Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20

    New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

    This is a discussion on New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi, Sky broadband was activated today and everything pretty much seems to have gone without a hitch. I had issues ...

    1. #1
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Hi,

      Sky broadband was activated today and everything pretty much seems to have gone without a hitch. I had issues with an unstable wireless connection initially but everything seems fine now.

      When I signed up Sky indicated I would get approx 14mbs. I also checked this on another site (andrew's) by entering my DSL max sync speed and attenuation and noise values - this also returned a max speed for ADSL2 of 14mbs.

      My current SKY connection details are:

      Connection Speed down : 9205kbps
      Attenuation : 36.5
      Noise Margin : 6.3db.

      After running the TCPOptimizer utility various speed test sites are reporting a download speed of approx 8000kbps and downloading large files it can average 1mb/s.

      Is there any reason why my sync speed is lower than was originally indicated? is it because Sky BB has only just been activated? could I get a higher sync given the attenuation and noise values?

      Many thanks
      Nick


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      use mognuts util (see my sig) and post your full detailed router stats so we can comment properly.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Without seeing your stats or more info, hard to say.

      Have you tried plugging the router into your test socket, behind the master socket?

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view.php?pg=master

      If you can try that and repost your stats, we can see if the sync speed is higher for you.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Thanks for the replies.

      I don't have a test socket. The BT 'box' I guess is fairly old. I'm connected (with microfilter) to the main socket in the house. There are no extensions running of it.

      My stats are below,

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 9205 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.1 12.5
      Attn(dB): 36.5 22.7
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 9372 864
      Rate (Kbps): 9205 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 245(0) 24
      R: 10 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 70 68
      B: 244 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 10 16
      S: 0.8482 7.7037
      L: 2405 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 557205 557203
      SFErr: 586 1
      RS: 42347634 4736225
      RSCorr: 4801075 0
      RSUnCorr: 1784 0

      HEC: 363 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 194967801 16163963
      Data Cells: 4172596 478515
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 232 1
      SES: 29 0
      UAS: 14 36
      Total time = 2 hours 30 min 0 sec
      SF = 557205
      CRC = 586
      LOS = 29
      LOF = 0
      ES = 232
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 30 min 0 sec
      SF = 557205
      CRC = 586
      LOS = 29
      LOF = 0
      ES = 232
      Latest 15 minutes time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55832
      CRC = 10
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 9
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55832
      CRC = 6
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 5
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55895
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 6
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 55832
      CRC = 23
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17

    6. #5
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Are you sure you dont have a test socket ? It looks like the picture in the post pasted below and is revealed when you remove the front cover. Your noise margin is quite low and there are quite a few errors listed for the short period your stats relate to.
      Post back and let us know - someone will help
      cheers
      dave
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/cabli...fraid-ask.html


    7. #6
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Hi, yes definately no test socket. It must an old faceplate/wiring

    8. #7
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Hi, could anyone help please with my issue as detailed above?

      Essentially I'm trying to determine:

      1. if my sync speed, etc. is appropriate given the noise and attenuation

      2. if my sync speed seems reasonable if there's anything I can pursue to reduce the noise which would therefore presumably allow the router to negotiate a higher sync.

      Given various postings & websites I was expecting a sync of around 14-15mb.

      Many thanks
      Nick

    9. #8
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Your sync speed is low for your attenuation. On a relatively noise free line you could expect ~13500kbps so it looks like your line is noisy.

      Your line is showing a fairly high level of errors.

      Your noise margin when you took the stats was 6.1db which will be contributing to the errors.

      If you don't have decent wiring, all you can do is replace it - there's no magic cure I'm afraid. The biggest benefit is likely to be from adding a new NTE5 with filtered faceplate next to your old socket. Connect the two then make all connections to the new.

    10. #9
      nicke1's Avatar
      nicke1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St Albans
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      46
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Thanks for the reply Saturday.

      Is there any mileage in having BT investigate, e.g. could the noise be due to a problem at the exchange or is it more likely the wiring inside my old faceplate/box?

      Can nearby electrical sources affect noise? I have within a few inches of the BT faceplate (and router connection to socket) a 4 way power adapter connected to lights, etc. May it beneficial trying to relocate this?

      Thanks
      Nick

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: New to Sky, advice please on Sync, etc

      Yes you could contact BT but there is a risk you'll be charged if you call them out and they find no fault within their responsibility. Can you hear any noise on voice calls?

      In the large majority of cases noise is local (house phone wiring) rather than remote (line to the exchange). Sometimes it's remote, sometimes it's both.

      Local causes are most commonly from extension wiring either hard wired or dodgy plug in ones (e.g. those that Sky "engineers" fit). Sometimes it is old/corroded connections or from equipment such as faulty microfilters, old phones or digiboxes. Things like dimmer switches and cheap energy efficient bulbs can cause problems. Every attached phone device e.g. phone, fax, digibox should have its own microfilter, not shared. Avoid cheap line splitters.

      You should avoid anything electrical close to ADSL wiring or equipment. Phone wires should be at least 5cm from power cables. Phone sockets should be as far away as possible from fuse boxes.

      HTH

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION