Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 17 of 17

    my current dowload/upload speed

    This is a discussion on my current dowload/upload speed within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ive done some in home re wireing and now getting NEW STATS ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 6144 kbps ...

    1. #11
      duff_beer's Avatar
      duff_beer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Ive done some in home re wireing
      and now getting

      NEW STATS
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6144 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.2 db 13.0 db

      Is that better or worse?

      HERES THE OLD
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6144 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 52.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 10.4 db 13.0 db
      Last edited by duff_beer; 29-04-07 at 01:12 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Much better: your attenuation has dropped 3db and your noise margin is up by 3.8db.

      Now you need to get on to Sky and get yourself uncapped.

    4. #13
      duff_beer's Avatar
      duff_beer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Saturday View Post
      Much better: your attenuation has dropped 3db and your noise margin is up by 3.8db.

      Now you need to get on to Sky and get yourself uncapped.
      iam already on sky broadband MAX which i understand is uncapped and have a adslnation master faceplate on the way

    5. #14
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Every package is capped - e.g. Max is capped at ~16000kbps down and ~764kbps up, Mid is 8000/416, Base is 2000/416.

      However, with your connection there are 3 clear signs you are capped a lot lower than this:
      • you always connect at 6144 down
      • you only have 256 up ( even on poor lines the upstream speed holds up close to 764kbps)
      • your noise margin is significantly higher than the default of 6.9db


      Trust me. Your connection is capped at 6144/256.

      Uncapped your downstream should rise as you have a decent noise margin. Your upstream will rise a lot.

    6. #15
      duff_beer's Avatar
      duff_beer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      cheeky gits, i had no idea,
      iam paying for the max package and they have me restricted
      Grrrrrr
      How do i go about getting my full UNCAPPED rate??
      Last edited by duff_beer; 29-04-07 at 07:09 PM. Reason: Removed full quote of preceding post

    7. #16
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Well to be fair they don't do this to con you but usually do it when they find line problems.

      You need to call Sky and get through to T3. You'll have to go through T1 first so expect all sorts of nonsense. If you can't be bothered with that then try emailing though you may still get the runaround.

      Be insistent. The thing to stick your heels in over is your upstream speed. They can't say that's right. When the T3 person fixes that he/she'll fix the downstream too.

    8. #17
      duff_beer's Avatar
      duff_beer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colchester
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: my current dowload/upload speed

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Thats about right,

      Checkout these two links for more information on understanding those stats, and how to get a little more from your connection,
      Sky router stats (speed, noise, attenuation) explained
      Optimising your Broadband Connection
      Is my attenuation correct?

      as iam only 2.05km from my exchange in a striate line

      my specs are again
      although i have a Cat 5 modem cable on the way so should be free off any interference very soon, already have AdslNation box in place

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6144 kbps 256 kbps
      Line Attenuation 49.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 14.2 db 14.0 db

      I read somewhere on here that "you cant do anything about your attenuation" but that just dont seen to be correct as just intalling the faceplate and running a normal extention cable to the modem has dropped it by 3db
      Last edited by duff_beer; 03-05-07 at 05:09 PM. Reason: updated

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION