Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Should I try and get ADSL2+?

    This is a discussion on Should I try and get ADSL2+? within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here are my stats, just wondering if it's worth nagging Sky for ADSL2+ /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status Status: ...

    1. #1
      Flukes's Avatar
      Flukes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Macclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      Here are my stats, just wondering if it's worth nagging Sky for ADSL2+

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 809
      6 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 10.7 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 9792 1088
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 528774 528772
      SFErr: 377 88
      RS: 71913340 4494562
      RSCorr: 113747 166
      RSUnCorr: 8315 0

      HEC: 313 66
      OCD: 0 18
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 171640096 0
      Data Cells: 15375663 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 159 0
      SES: 59 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 2 hours 30 min 22 sec
      SF = 528774
      CRC = 377
      LOS = 68
      LOF = 0
      ES = 159
      Latest 1 day time = 2 hours 30 min 22 sec
      SF = 528774
      CRC = 377
      LOS = 68
      LOF = 0
      ES = 159
      Latest 15 minutes time = 22 sec
      SF = 1353
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 19
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 21
      LOS = 8
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 66
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 11
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 144
      LOS = 26
      LOF = 0
      ES = 48


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Flukes's Avatar
      Flukes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Macclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      Another stats update:

      So far the service has been really smooth and no dropouts/disconnections and a very stable 8mbps speed.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 809
      6 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.6 13.0
      Attn(dB): 15.5 27.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 12.3
      Max(Kbps): 9792 1088
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1027967 1027965
      SFErr: 664 146
      RS: 139803564 8737702
      RSCorr: 10154052 264
      RSUnCorr: 13711 0

      HEC: 531 110
      OCD: 0 18
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 333683618 0
      Data Cells: 18028865 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 365 0
      SES: 101 0
      UAS: 23 0
      Total time = 4 hours 51 min 49 sec
      SF = 1027967
      CRC = 664
      LOS = 114
      LOF = 0
      ES = 365
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 51 min 49 sec
      SF = 1027967
      CRC = 664
      LOS = 114
      LOF = 0
      ES = 365
      Latest 15 minutes time = 6 min 49 sec
      SF = 24054
      CRC = 8
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 7
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 65
      LOS = 5
      LOF = 0
      ES = 60
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 33
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 17
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 16
      LOS = 6
      LOF = 0
      ES = 18
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52990
      CRC = 13
      LOS = 4
      LOF = 0
      ES = 15

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      Both sets of stats show the 15.5db attenuation "bug" so it's not possible to say what your line could potentially support.

      You're on G.DMT and capped at 8096kbps. Even so your noise margin isn't much higher than default so either your line is noisy or your attenuation is quite high and won't support much more than 8096kbps. Your line errors are showing as high but not desperately so.

      You need to reboot/reset your router and post your true attenuation. A comparison with your test socket would also be informative.

    5. #4
      Flukes's Avatar
      Flukes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Macclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      I rebooted the router and it still says 15.5db. I will try again later.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 15.5 db 27.5 db
      Noise Margin 8.9 db 13.0 db

      Update: Rebooted it again and this time it's showing the real attenuation, 41db

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 9.7 db 13.0 db

      My noise margin is constantly changing and hovering between 9.6 and 9.9db.
      Last edited by Flukes; 20-04-07 at 02:42 AM.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      With an attenuation of 41db the best you could hope for on ADSL2+ is ~10500kbps. Personally, were I you, I'd stick with G.DMT as it will probably give a more stable connection and near the same real world speed.

    7. #6
      Flukes's Avatar
      Flukes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Macclesfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      Will do thanks for the helpful advice!

    8. #7
      belalmiah's Avatar
      belalmiah is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wanstead
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: X3 Sky+HD Box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      Hi,

      Could you please tell me how you got your stats?
      Sorry I'm new to this site and sky broadband.

      Thanks

    9. #8
      Sky_Surfer's Avatar
      Sky_Surfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I try and get ADSL2+?

      see this thread

      HTML Code:
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/router-stats/10250-where-do-you-get-your-stats.html


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION