Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Spcdusts Sky BB Max Speed Results

    This is a discussion on Spcdusts Sky BB Max Speed Results within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; http://www.numion.com/YourSpeed3/Sho...?ID=51,257,499 Have a gander at these and tell me what you think. I've done a few FTP download tests but ...

    1. #1
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Spcdusts Sky BB Max Speed Results

      http://www.numion.com/YourSpeed3/Sho...?ID=51,257,499

      Have a gander at these and tell me what you think.

      I've done a few FTP download tests but seem to have only hit 250kB/s. Also other web site speed tests are reporting back 5MB-6Mb maximum. My line is synced at around 12946 kbps.

      I don't know, I'm giving myself a headache what with KB/ps, kb/ps, Mbits, Mbytes, "what speed I should be getting", "what speed I'm actually getting"....owwwwwwwww!

      spcdust
      Last edited by spcdust; 07-09-06 at 12:14 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      which ftp's did you test from? 250kb/s for an almost 13mb synced connection is extremely poor....i sincerely hope Sky haven't bitten off more than they can chew.

    4. #3
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      My stats from this morning:

      I have also been getting low download speeds, possibly due to firewall?


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 11998 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.2 db
      Noise Margin 12.7 db 12.6 db

    5. #4
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      @brucemac
      Connection Speed 11998 kbps 766 kbps
      What sort of download speeds do you think you are getting? My upload speeds seem to be fine, how about yours?

      Just chatting to one of our IT guys at work and showed him my results on that speed test site (see Original Post) and to give it some context also showed him my stats as reported on the router which included my 13394 sync speed

      By his reckoning he thought my results were spot on and said he read them to mean I was getting 1.5MB/per second. He also said that the way these things are measured and reported by loads of sites just confuses everyone and you end up chasing your tail trying to understand and putting into context unit measurements of kB, kb, Mb, MB.

      Not sure if he's correct?

      spcdust

      spcdust
      Last edited by spcdust; 07-09-06 at 01:34 PM.

    6. #5
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by spcdust View Post
      http://www.numion.com/YourSpeed3/Sho...?ID=51,257,499

      Have a gander at these and tell me what you think.

      I've done a few FTP download tests but seem to have only hit 250kB/s. Also other web site speed tests are reporting back 5MB-6Mb maximum. My line is synced at around 12946 kbps.

      I don't know, I'm giving myself a headache what with KB/ps, kb/ps, Mbits, Mbytes, "what speed I should be getting", "what speed I'm actually getting"....owwwwwwwww!

      spcdust
      Bits:..........12,073,795
      Kilobits:......11,790.8154
      Megabits:......11.5145
      Gigabits:......0.0112
      Bytes:.........1,509,224
      Kilobytes:.....1,473.8519
      Megabytes:.....1.4393
      Gigabytes:.....0.0014

      Even more confused now? You should be a happy bunny!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    7. #6
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i havhe been recapped again as i kep dropping out and loosing signal, I am now down to 10MB from 12mb

      By next week i'd be better off on dial up!!!

    8. #7
      spcdust's Avatar
      spcdust is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      170
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I know this might sound basic but where on the router interface does it report line drop-outs as I would have thought this would be a handy statistic to know. As far as I know I haven't lost my connection once but maybe I'm living in ignorant bliss - what happens brucemac when your line does drop out? Does the router re-connect automatically or do you have to re-boot it?

      spcdust

    9. #8
      OhNoes's Avatar
      OhNoes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sidcup (LSSID)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      138
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It should reconnect automatically, and the Logs page in the router config might show drop outs and resyncs.

    10. #9
      brucemac's Avatar
      brucemac is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: South Shields
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Its a bit weird, sometimes i can't access the router but then can still access the net, then itwill be the net that will go and then the router then i have to reboot the router!

      it'll work for a bit and then cut out


      Current stats fpr this morning

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 9982 kbps 766 kbps
      Line Attenuation 29.0 db 14.2 db
      Noise Margin 15.8 db 11.2 db

      Still in learning mode!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION