Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Having problems with download speeds...

    This is a discussion on Having problems with download speeds... within the Speed tests and how to get better results forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; ...still and trying to get to the bottom of whats happening, but after reading as many posts as my head ...

    1. #1
      bobbley's Avatar
      bobbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Having problems with download speeds...

      ...still

      and trying to get to the bottom of whats happening, but after reading as many posts as my head can take, I'm not sure whether to change DNS servers, stick my line into the master socket or set my noise levels or even play with my attenuation!

      I've downloaded several speed tests, inc the Optimiser everone recommends - but all to no avail.

      I'm a patient person, but its wearing thin with my so-called 'broadband'

      Its late, and I really need your help, please - Mosseywell's Bounce is telling me my line is getting 8128kbps, but using BBMax, my d/l speed is only 166kbps and u/l is 382kbps!!

      Netgear stats are:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 3091 3660 0 1435 5094 00:12:37
      LAN 10M/100M 84 0 0 32 0 00:12:56
      WLAN 11M/54M 6352 5633 0 6424 1765 00:12:46


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8128 kbps 448 kbps
      Line Attenuation 28.0 db 17.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.6 db 22.0 db

      i know the noise margin isn't good - it has reached 8, but generally hovers around the 7.6 mark...

      Any ideas anyone, please?

      Thanks

      Bobbley
      Last edited by bobbley; 24-03-07 at 01:36 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      Quote Originally Posted by bobbley View Post
      and trying to get to the bottom of whats happening, but after reading as many posts as my head can take, I'm not sure whether to change DNS servers, stick my line into the master socket or set my noise levels or even play with my attenuation!
      Changing DNS server can't change your download speed. You can't change your attenuation. Raising your noise margin a bit may improve things a little (I'll explain in a mo) but it will decrease your connection speed. Plugging into the master socket might help.

      There are three main reasons for a download speed which is significantly lower (i.e. <80%) than connection speed.
      • using a wireless connection
      • incorrect TCP/IP settings
      • severe line errors

      You haven't said whether you are doing the first and you say you've checked the second (TCPOptimizer). You haven't posted your full stats so I can't comment on the third.

      If it is not a wireless issue and is a line error issue then raising the noise margin may improve things (with the caveat mentioned above). That's not the solution though.

      Most line errors are caused by local wiring problems e.g. extensions. Plugging into the master socket may remove or eliminate them - often not. You need to run comparative tests between your normal connection socket, directly into the master socket and directly into the test socket which you'll find behind the faceplate of your master socket (assuming you have an NTE5). The results of these tests should indicate the best course of action to get rid of the line errors.

    4. #3
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      I would definately recommend trying the Test socket behind the master socket faceplate (If you have an NTE5 type master socket) this would help to rule out your house wiring as a source in interference.

      You may also like to experiment by using different channels for your wireless, to avoid intereference from other nearby wireless users or from interference caused by electrical equipment in your home.

      *Edit*-Saturday beat me to it!
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    5. #4
      bobbley's Avatar
      bobbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      Haven't tried the master socket yet - will do that soon

      didn't want to post detailed stats til someone commented on the situation at the mo - but these are:

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 448 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8128 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.0 22.0
      Attn(dB): 28.0 17.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 11.9
      Max(Kbps): 9120 1108
      Rate (Kbps): 8128 448
      G.dmt framing
      K: 255(0) 15
      R: 0 0
      S: 1 1
      D: 1 1
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 255 15
      M: 1 1
      T: 1 1
      R: 0 0
      S: 1.0000 1.0000
      L: 2048 128
      D: 1 1
      Counters
      SF: 1436179 1436177
      SFErr: 3128 0
      RS: 0 0
      RSCorr: 0 0
      RSUnCorr: 0 0

      HEC: 2178 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 468034805 0
      Data Cells: 123038 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 589 0
      SES: 46 0
      UAS: 12 0
      Total time = 6 hours 47 min 12 sec
      SF = 1436179
      CRC = 3128
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 589
      Latest 1 day time = 6 hours 47 min 12 sec
      SF = 1436179
      CRC = 3128
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 589
      Latest 15 minutes time = 2 min 12 sec
      SF = 7764
      CRC = 1
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 11
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 10
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 96
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 23
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 260
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 53
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 373
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 85


      just done another speed test using BBMax: miserable results from a wireless 8MB line - supposedly

      Download Speed: 99 kbps (12.4 KB/sec transfer rate)
      Upload Speed: 366 kbps (45.8 KB/sec transfer rate)

      ...i'm getting so frustrated - you'd think there'd be a nice person on the end of Sky tech support who'd be able to advise instead of someone in another country who's reading off their flow chart what happens next...frustrated and exasperated - spent hours in front of the pc trying to sort it...you guys are my last hope before i cancel the damn thing altogether.

      Will try optimising again, rebooting the router and plugging in the master socket...will let you know how i get on, if you guys can comment on my stats, i'd be grateful because they're meaningless to me...

      ...and how do i change my channels, please?

      Many thanks

      Bobbley
      Last edited by bobbley; 24-03-07 at 06:14 PM.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      Quote Originally Posted by bobbley View Post
      Haven't tried the master socket yet - will do that soon
      No - read the posts. Test socket.

      And while you are reading them, please note you've already been told that wireless may/will give slow speeds. "Optimizing" will make no difference.

      Your line is poor i.e. it is generating a lot of errors. But that's probably not the main problem causing slow downloads. In case you missed it:

      IT'S YOUR WIRELESS CONNECTION
      Last edited by Saturday; 24-03-07 at 07:54 PM.

    7. #6
      bobbley's Avatar
      bobbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      i meant test socket, my apologies...

      ...tried the test socket and no difference.

      get the same sort of results whether the router is sat next to the pc, or in its normal position: on top of a bookcase in the lounge, about 3m in a straight line from me (obviously through a wall or two and floor).

      Even hard wired in, there is some improvement, but surely not what i should be getting, which suggests its not the adapter.

      oh, well...if i can't be helped anymore...

      thanks anyway.

      Bobbley

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      It is impossible to help you if you don't give the information necessary to see what's happening:

      • The test socket made "no difference" to what?
      • "Hardwired" made "some improvement" - which was to what and how much?


      Your wireless connection is undoubtedly a factor as a) it nearly always is and b) you demonstrated wired was faster (but didn't say by how much).

      Your line is terrible with huge numbers of errors. High errors means low(er) download speed. It is unusual for the test socket to give the same error rate as a "normal" socket. In your case we'll never know.

      I could go on but what's the point.

      @bobbley I've tried to help you but it all seems to be one way which is very frustrating. Maybe someone else would like to pick up the baton.

      If not, the answer to your problems (or at least clues as to what the causes are) are in the replies to your posts. If you're not happy with those answers/suggestions then the rest of the forum is a tremendous resource and I'm sure a little bit of reading would help you enormously and may improve your understanding.

    9. #8
      bobbley's Avatar
      bobbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      Apologies for not providing the info needed...i'm not fantastically technically minded, but not afraid to find out the nitty gritty of stuff.

      As such, i can't just think we'll this info is needed, and if that happens then i need to post this info etc etc i mean i had no ideas that optimising would make no difference to the wireless connection. But reading the posts on the site, I understand the basics...

      Apologies also for my frustration with the issue coming across in my posts...

      Basically, I had the router hardwired in, wireless next to the pc and wireless from downstairs. Each time my downloads aren't higher than 1MB/s which is achieved with the ethernet cable.

      Can we start again, please?

      I understand I need to provide info so people can offer help...I'm not entirely sure what exactly i do need to give you guys, but do i need to provide download and transfer rates for each scenario: ie the 3 above, and again but in the test socket. What else can i provide?

      Hope you can respond Saturday...

      many thanks again,

      bobbley

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      First, read this post very carefully and ensure you follow the instructions exactly. This has to be done for every PC/laptop you have.

      Then the following info would be helpful:

      1. How exactly is your router connected to the phone line? You say "hardwired". What does that mean? Is it plugged into a fixed extension socket or a plug in type? Is it connected with the supplied cable or a different one? What other extensions do you have? Does every appliance have its own microfilter?
      2. With your router connected to the phone line however you normally have it, reboot the router then use the connection heavily for at least an hour. Extract the full stats. With the router connected to a PC by ethernet run a speedtest using this site. Post stats and speedtest results.
      3. With your router connected directly to the test socket (hidden inside the master socket) using the supplied router cable, reboot the router then use the connection heavily for at least an hour. Extract the full stats. With the router connected to a PC by ethernet run a speedtest using this site. Post stats and speedtest results.

    11. #10
      bobbley's Avatar
      bobbley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Having problems with download speeds...

      Many thanks, Saturday. Will read, digest and test...

      Will get back when I'm done - probably be a day or two...

      cheers

      Bobbley

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION