Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast
    Results 101 to 110 of 116

    SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

    This is a discussion on SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta) within the SkyUser Bandwidth Meter forums, part of the Community channel category; As everyone, except those on Everyday Lite, has an unlimited allowance there is not much point in using the BM ...

    1. #101
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      As everyone, except those on Everyday Lite, has an unlimited allowance there is not much point in using the BM now, but if you want to use it, Right click the black box in the tray and it will bring up the menu. Select 'Full bandwidth stats' to bring up your usage.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #102
      calista99's Avatar
      calista99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      hi, just a quick ques...is this software compatible for MAC ??

    4. #103
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      I don't think so. It runs on the .NET framework.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #104
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      Does this software gather cumulative stats if my wife and myself log on via separate user accounts on our PC ?

      Or would stats be separate, once for each user ?

    6. #105
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      It will collect the stats for the PC no matter who is logged on. It must be installed on each PC you use.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      mcphailan (01-04-11)

    8. #106
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      .Net See this
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    9. #107
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers's Avatar
      I_Hate_Sky_Awnsers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Virgin Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Virgin
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      965
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 59 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      Quote Originally Posted by calista99 View Post
      hi, just a quick ques...is this software compatible for MAC ??
      Doubt it .NET is Microsoft only unless it has changed.
      Links Router Stats Useful Tutorials Speed Test Check For Test Socket Repetitive Electrical Impulse Noise

      Results from http://www.speed.io (Copied on 2011-04-08 16:36:58)
      Download: 50000 Kbit/s Upload : 4361 kbit/s Connects : 2446 conn/min Ping: 21 ms

    10. #108
      mcphailan's Avatar
      mcphailan is offline Senior Member
      Exchange: South Harrow
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Location
      Harrow
      Posts
      156
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      I tried it but sadly had to de-install it as does not work well with (dirty word coming) Vista.

      Every time I logged on it prompted me with "unidentified program..please confirm" dialog. And I could not shut down or log off cleanly, as the bandwiithmeter executable "blocked" the process
      Last edited by mcphailan; 01-04-11 at 07:41 PM.

    11. #109
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      Your profile indicates that you have Sky BB Unlimited.

      is there any particular reason that you need the Bandwidth Monitor?

      There might be something more suitable that a member may be aware of.

      I've used a program called NetStat Live for several years on Windows 98 & XP. It can work on some Vista computers, but not all.

      Not only does it show your current data transfer, but also it shows monthly stats.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    12. #110
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SkyUser Bandwidth Meter (open beta)

      It worked fine with me with Vista, when I was running it. It does not work on Win 7 and the development seems to have halted. You could try installing it as Administrator see if that helps. Uninstall the program before you try this. To run as Administrator


      1. Logon to Vista using your usual account.
      2. Launch the cmd prompt - Make sure you select, 'Run as administrator'
      3. Net user administrator p£ssw0rD (your password, if you don't use one go straight to 4.)
      4. Net user administrator /active:yes
      5. Switch User, or logoff
      6. Log back on as Administrator
      7. Try installing BWM

      This a more powerful mode than the simple right click Run as command and should be used carefully. To log out of it use the same commands and replace the :yes with :no

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      mcphailan (01-04-11)

     

     
    Page 11 of 12 FirstFirst ... 9101112 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION