Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Help please?

    This is a discussion on Help please? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; A friend of mine sent me a PM Hi Ged, totally off topic but hoping you could help. For some ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Help please?

      A friend of mine sent me a PM

      Hi Ged, totally off topic but hoping you could help. For some reason when I record a film on my Sky+ box, the recording stops before the end of the film!. Any suggestions greatfully accepted
      As I do not have Sky+ I can't really answer him, any ideas?

      NR
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      not sure really, it could be that they are recording a film that 'comtinues after the news' and therefore if they haven't set it to record both halves, then they will not get the whole film.

      How long before the end is it stopping recording?

    4. #3
      wingco1's Avatar
      wingco1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCWOR
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky BB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      Hi, I sent the original message to Ged. The problem is with Sky Movies. I select a film press the record key and all appears to be OK. However when watching the last two films I recorded, both finished recording before the end of the film.

      When I go to "Services"/Sky+ Setup my settings are Add to start of recording=2mins, Add to end of recording=10mins.

    5. #4
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      Is it still happening? Is it the same channel?

      Could simply be that the underlying program info that the channel was sending was wrong as opposed to anything wrong at your end.

    6. #5
      wingco1's Avatar
      wingco1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCWOR
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky BB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      Hi, Not tried in the last couple of days, will give it another go and report back

    7. #6
      wingco1's Avatar
      wingco1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCWOR
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky BB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      I changed settings to, Add to end of recording= Automatic, and all appears to be OK. Of course it could be coincidental, we'll have to see how things go.

    8. #7
      NickS's Avatar
      NickS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Seethelight FTTH
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      122
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Help please?

      I've never had any problems with the settings set to automatic, that should work in the same way as PDC on a standard video recorder, but does rely on Sky and the relevant broadcaster updating the EPG on time. I know there are issues with the time on certain channels so this can affect non-automatic recordings. I can confirm from experience that, where a film is interrupted by the news, you need to set both parts to record, watch out especially on five, there is a very short news bulletin at 9pm but that does split the film into two parts for the EPG even if it is not shown in the listings magazines.

    9. #8
      wingco1's Avatar
      wingco1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCWOR
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky BB
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Help please?

      Thanks for the tip Nick

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION