Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

    This is a discussion on Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Grrr.. Although I should have seen it coming, I thought that SKY+ would have dealt with it a little better. ...

    1. #1
      MrRalphMan's Avatar
      MrRalphMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Billericay, Essex
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      Grrr..

      Although I should have seen it coming, I thought that SKY+ would have dealt with it a little better.

      The other night wanted to record a few things.

      Programs 1 & 2 were on Channel 1, back to back.
      Program 3 was on Channel 2

      Queued these programs to record, no issues.

      The next day went to watch the programs, the third one said that there was a program clash.
      I assume that it's the overlap period between programs 1 & 2 that caused this, I was slightly dissapointed as I would of thought that programs 1 & 2 would have sorted themselves out as I could do without recording 5 mins or so twice.

      Rant over.. It means I have to hunt round every week for one of the shows to download.. I mean to watch on a reply.

      Many Thanks,

      Paul.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      it will only record 2 channels if you are watching one (dont make sence i know)
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #3
      MrRalphMan's Avatar
      MrRalphMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Billericay, Essex
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      The box was switched off..

      I think it was the overlap from progs 1 & 2, so in effect two programs were being recorded even if it's the same channel.
      then the third fails due to two progs already being recorded.

      I'm pretty sure if you've two progs on different channels then it'll work.

    5. #4
      Disillusioned's Avatar
      Disillusioned is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SSFLT Filton Bristol
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      North Bristol
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      You're right Ralph, I have encountered exactly the same problem and it is most irritating.

      Dis
      ~Computing today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning~

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      You can often get round this problem by using the keep function e.g.

      programme a, channel 1, 7:00-8:00
      programme b, channel 1, 8:00-9:00 (keep)
      programme c, channel 2, 8:00-9:00 (keep)

      What happens (or at least should - it doesn't always work) is that the follow on recording with keep will stop the recording of the one already recording without keep. The box needs to be on standby or you must be watching a recorded programme at the cut over time.

      HTH

    7. #6
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      From memory press services on your remote then 5
      That takes you to the Sky+ setup menu.
      Change the "Add to Start of recording" to 0 mins
      Change the "Add to End of Recording" to 0 mins

      This will start and stop the recordings at the published times, the only issue is if a programme runs over you will cut off the end.

    8. #7
      MrRalphMan's Avatar
      MrRalphMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Billericay, Essex
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      Quote Originally Posted by yodasarmpit View Post
      From memory press services on your remote then 5
      That takes you to the Sky+ setup menu.
      Change the "Add to Start of recording" to 0 mins
      Change the "Add to End of Recording" to 0 mins

      This will start and stop the recordings at the published times, the only issue is if a programme runs over you will cut off the end.
      Yeah, not too keen on doing this as I bet I get stung with not seeing the end of something. The Mrs has already complained as she's missed the last few vital minutes of Coranation Street a few times..
      I'll try Saturday's idea though

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      she's missed the last few vital minutes of Coranation Street a few times..
      Not missed much then!
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      MrRalphMan's Avatar
      MrRalphMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Billericay, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Billericay, Essex
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      Don't get me started.. lol

    11. #10
      Laudon's Avatar
      Laudon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01489
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recording two channels, unless one channel has back to back programs

      If you program the back to back recordings on the same channel as a single manual event and add on some extra time to allow for any overrun, then program the recording on the second channel as normal you should get all of the required prgrams fully recorded. No need to change any other recording settings.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION