Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16

    SKY+ any good

    This is a discussion on SKY+ any good within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, thinking of moving to full package and also my BB to SKY. Seems from reading up there seems to ...

    1. #1
      BK322's Avatar
      BK322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Durham NEDU
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question SKY+ any good

      Hi,
      thinking of moving to full package and also my BB to SKY.
      Seems from reading up there seems to be a lot of problems with these boxes.
      I can record with my receiver i use now and don't get any problems but i am limited to only been able to record what i watch.
      If i take the full package do i get + subscription included?
      And with full package and old receiver, would i still have to pay an extra 10 for multi-room?

      Thanks

      Not sure if any of that makes any sense....sry


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      yodasarmpit's Avatar
      yodasarmpit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      West Lothian, Scotland
      Posts
      196
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      With any premium package, Sky+ subs is free.
      You will still have to pay multiroom subs though.

    4. #3
      tomd84's Avatar
      tomd84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: I bet you would like to know!
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      Quote Originally Posted by BK322 View Post
      Hi,
      thinking of moving to full package and also my BB to SKY.
      Seems from reading up there seems to be a lot of problems with these boxes.
      I can record with my receiver i use now and don't get any problems but i am limited to only been able to record what i watch.
      If i take the full package do i get + subscription included?
      And with full package and old receiver, would i still have to pay an extra 10 for multi-room?

      Thanks

      Not sure if any of that makes any sense....sry
      Sky+ is great, never had any problems with it apart from the very odd failed recording, apart from that, thats about it!

    5. #4
      BK322's Avatar
      BK322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Durham NEDU
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      Thanks for the replies, however i might just stay with my current receiver as i can setup what and when i record via a web page and it has never failed a recording yet.
      Shame really but there seems to be far far to many people with problems from SKY+ boxes.

    6. #5
      tomd84's Avatar
      tomd84 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: I bet you would like to know!
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      125
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      Quote Originally Posted by BK322 View Post
      Thanks for the replies, however i might just stay with my current receiver as i can setup what and when i record via a web page and it has never failed a recording yet.
      Shame really but there seems to be far far to many people with problems from SKY+ boxes.
      what reciver do you have that you can set up form a webpage?

    7. #6
      BK322's Avatar
      BK322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Durham NEDU
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      PM'd you just incase

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      Quote Originally Posted by BK322 View Post
      Shame really but there seems to be far far to many people with problems from SKY+ boxes.
      What are the stats like then:

      ie 500,000 people with sky plus and 450,000 problems?? Nope, people do have problems, but no different to PC parts failure.

      Hands up those that have had a hard drive or other component fail in their PC?

      From everyone I know that has a PC and out of everyone I know that has sky+, the sky+ is far more reliable hardware. Now based on that and based on your principal you wouldn't have a PC, but I bet you do.

      Sky+ is the best invention ever. Yes a few people have had problems, but any piece of technology has problems.

      And you can record on your sky+ via mobile phone and soon the web too.

      You can also upgrade your hard drive in sky+ to give you whatever amount of recording space you want.
      .

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      Quote Originally Posted by BK322 View Post
      Thanks for the replies, however i might just stay with my current receiver as i can setup what and when i record via a web page and it has never failed a recording yet.
      .
      Failed recordings can quite often be due to loss of satelite signal which will affect any method of recording sky.

    10. #9
      BK322's Avatar
      BK322 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Durham NEDU
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      like i said SKY+ does seem to have its advantages (not slagging it off in any way) but i was concerned over reliabilty of the boxes.
      Do the boxes have a Network connection on the back? (i ask because i use it to stream to my laptop now and again)

      Thinking of upgrading to full tv phone and internet package, am i right in thinking the + side would cost me 99.99 for box and installation charge?
      Last edited by BK322; 16-02-07 at 05:15 PM.

    11. #10
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: SKY+ any good

      No it doesn't have one, but I suspect newer versions will so it can be hooked up to the SkyBB box so that Sky can offer true VOD services.

      Don't worry about the horror stories you may have read about sky+ reliability. It is just as reliable as the next piece of PVR equipment available on the high street.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION