Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    SKY + / No need for installation?

    This is a discussion on SKY + / No need for installation? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi everyone, Im new to the forum but thought I would share this with you all and get your input. ...

    1. #1
      jay law's Avatar
      jay law is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Hoddesdon
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY + / No need for installation?

      Hi everyone,

      Im new to the forum but thought I would share this with you all and get your input.

      I was on the phone to sky yesterday, upgraded to Sky Broadband Max & Sky Talk (I am already an exisiting Sky TV customer, but want to upgrade to Sky +....the chapest possible way).

      The guy on the end of the phone was some funny scottish man, and we had a long conversation about pro evo 6...irrelavent but funny.

      When i got to the end of the conversation, I asked whether this would affect my upgrade to Sky + if i chose too. The guy on the phone told me...even though he shouldn't....that I dont actually need to buy Sky + through Sky, and that I can get away with buying a new box from ebay etc, connecting it myself...ringing sky, and just getting them to match up my sky viewing card with my new box, and informing them that I am on a sky + box (he also added i dont need to change my subscription as I already have one premium channel, sports, so it wouldnt increase my costs at all).

      Having told some guys at work this, they said I also need to get a new quad LNB fitted to my dish.

      ....Can anyone tell me if any of the above is true? and if yes/no why?

      Cheers
      Jay


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Godspeed's Avatar
      Godspeed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: And Mart
      Broadband ISP: MID & Missing my Connect Ping
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Devon
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      Yup that's all true.

      You don't even have to subscribe to any sky packages to use the sky+ features although you do need to pay 10pm for the privilege of using the box for free to view channels
      Last edited by Godspeed; 06-02-07 at 02:51 PM.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      Anyone know how I can get a Sky+ box for 49.00 fitted? I have tried every trick in the book, and the lady in Turnaround laughed her socks off when I asked for the deal last night. She knew exactly what I was going to ask.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      lowmans's Avatar
      lowmans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: werrington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      If you subscribe to a premium channel you do nat have to pay the 10/month Sky+ fee

      You will need a quad LNB because the Sky+ box needs 2 inputs from the dish so you can either watch one channel & record another or record two channels at the same time.

      The quad LNB gives you up to 4 outputs from the dish. The other two outputs can be used for 2 extra standard boxes or one extra Sky+ box (i.e. multiroom).

      And you can buy the Sky+ box from anywhere you like, although I wouldn't recommend buying a second hand one just incase the HDD is dodgy.

    6. #5
      jay law's Avatar
      jay law is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Hoddesdon
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      So would I be able to buy a box & quad LNB and fit it all myself

      ....baring in mind my dish is just the other side of the wall to the box, and all i need to fit it is to reach out the window?

    7. #6
      Godspeed's Avatar
      Godspeed is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: And Mart
      Broadband ISP: MID & Missing my Connect Ping
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Devon
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      Unless like my first installation it was for a free box then i would'nt let a glorified window cleaner er sorry sky installer fit anything for me.

      All you need to do is put a quad lnb on the end of your dish (have a look to see what size the shaft is so you get the right one)

      You will need some twin cable coax which is roughly the same diameter (so should go through the dsame size holes) as standard sat coax to feed both tuners.

      Buy a second hand sky+ box from a reputable source - i.e a forum member who has upgraded to skyHD (avforums etc)


      As a side reference if you do'nt want just 'movies' or 'sport' as a premium package you can get a mix of the two as a premium package.

      It's something like all the odd numbered sport channels and all the even movie channels etc.

      Good luck, you should'nt have any trouble

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      and watch you don't fall out of the window
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #8
      lowmans's Avatar
      lowmans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: werrington
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      Its not impossible, you would also need a length of coax, and you will need the connectors to terminate the cable and you will also need to drill a hole through the wall beside you existing coax cable. You would need to remove the old LNB and fit the new quad LNB. I wouldn't have thought it would be too easy if you were leaning out of a window! You would need to do it off a ladder.

      You could contact a local firm that fits aerials as most of these companies also fit satalite equipment (many are contrtacted to Sky). I'm sure they would do it for you cheaper than Sky.

    10. #9
      jennifer's Avatar
      jennifer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LocksH
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Foxsat HDR
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      181
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + / No need for installation?

      You will also need new rubber seals or self-amalgamating tape to make the F connections to the LNB waterproof. AND you will need at least 2 more F connectors, (mentioned above). AND make sure the cables at the LNB have a downward loop to direct raindrops away from the F connectors.

      I see Sky+ boxes on eBay and other sources that are more expensive than a Sky install!

      Don't forget that the Quad LNB is also heavier than a single and can pull the Dish Arm down a bit causing misalignment. ALSO you will need the correct LNB for your existing dish shape - round or oval.

      Jennifer

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION