Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

    This is a discussion on Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hello, at simplydigital it says: 40 Hours Personal Recording 160GB Hard Drive (80GB available to customer) . I know that ...

    1. #1
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Question Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      Hello, at simplydigital it says:
      40 Hours Personal Recording
      160GB Hard Drive (80GB available to customer)
      .

      I know that this site is nowt to do with them, I was just wondering if someone here knows why I'd lose 80gb if I got one of these sky+ boxes?

      Cheers.
      Last edited by Wheelie; 29-01-07 at 10:26 PM. Reason: Fixed link


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      that version of the sky+ box has firmware/software that will always reserve 80Gb of the hard drive ready for sky's VOD service where it will auto download films etc onto your harddrive for you to view whenever you want.

    4. #3
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      As above, even if you upgrade to bigger drive, the software will always reserve this amount - this is ALL sky+ boxes not just from simply digital.

    5. #4
      Tim1964's Avatar
      Tim1964 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hoddesdon
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      South East Herts
      Posts
      135
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      Except in the 160 box which has a 160Gb HDD in it to give about 100 hrs recording.

    6. #5
      myerss's Avatar
      myerss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Werrington
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      Quote Originally Posted by Hughjarse View Post
      As above, even if you upgrade to bigger drive, the software will always reserve this amount - this is ALL sky+ boxes not just from simply digital.
      This is not entirely true. If you just swap the old drive with a new bigger drive the Sky+ box software will automatically format it to 80GB. BUT, if you use the copyplus software Copy+ : The Ultimate Sky+/XTV hard drive copier you will be able to use all the capacity of the new drive as this software will format the whole of the new drive when it copies data from the old HDD to the new HDD.

      For compatible HDD's see SURVEY: Sky+ Upgrade Hard Disks - Digital Spy Forums, not all HDD's work and some may need fan upgrades, but the digital spy forum will give you ideas of what HDD's work.

    7. #6
      Hughjarse's Avatar
      Hughjarse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?

      Now thats a good find...

    8. #7
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Pace - 160gb but only 80gb available?


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION