Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Broken Sky+ Box

    This is a discussion on Broken Sky+ Box within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, Just found this forum after searching for a fix for my Pace 4.008p Sky+ box. Its lasted over 3 ...

    1. #1
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Broken Sky+ Box

      Hi,

      Just found this forum after searching for a fix for my Pace 4.008p Sky+ box.

      Its lasted over 3 years so not too bad. On Thursday the box crashed so I did the power cycle thing and tried to recocr a program, it wouldnt lat me, saying:

      "SYSTEM FAULT, playback and recording not available, please call us for assistance"

      I then noticed my Sky Planner had been emptied (I had a film stored there for over 2 years!!) I called Sky and the fella took me through a full system reset and after that, the recording facility worked. I set up some series links and thought it was ok, but 20 mins later it did the same thing again!

      Called Sky today, it needs an engineer to come out and fix it at 65 not the end of the world but it may leave me with a re-con box and only 90 day warranty.

      I hear a new box from the high street retailer is only 100 with a 1 year warranty.

      What would you recommend? Or what in the box is likely to be broken? I am happy to take the box apart and replace/upgrade the HDD (I have the guide somewhere) if that's what is thought to be the problem but how to check it?

      I would appreciate any help.

      Thanks
      Jack


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      If the box works apart from recording/playback then it sounds like the Hard Disc has died. (Not too bad after 3 years)

      The "Full System Reset", can sometimes bring a disc back to life for a short time! (Will definately delete everything off your disc though so be carefull) (SERVICES 4 0 1 select).

      Have you considered changing the disc yourself?

    4. #3
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi, Many thanks, yes all works apart from the recording and live pause.

      The full system reset did fix it for about 20 mins but then the same happened.

      Happy to change it myself, il borrow an 80Gb Maxtor from a server i have sitting here not plugged in

      They are SATA HDDs?

      Anyone have a HDD compatible with Sky+ box list?

      Cheers

    5. #4
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I believe that the Pace Version 1/2 boxes had standard ATA-100 40 PIN IDC type drives.

      SATA is the later ones like the HD box.

    6. #5
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bugger, il have to go buy one, I just need a way to confirm the fault before spending

    7. #6
      dgilbert2's Avatar
      dgilbert2 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Loughborough
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Non now
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      420
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Ummmm, a difficult one, but I've had the same failure mode as descibed on 2 Sky+ boxes in our family.

      Good luck with your choice!

    8. #7
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      oks, thanks for your help m8, il have a closer look tomorrow

    9. #8
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      It's your hard drive.the rest will fail over time.

    10. #9
      Jack_155Q4's Avatar
      Jack_155Q4 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid/Everyday
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Bromley, Kent
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      THe rest being....? all the other components?

      Anything I need to worry about?

    11. #10
      karaokian's Avatar
      karaokian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Northbourne STNTHBN
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bournemouth
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had the same problem as the OP, and found this method to bring it all back to life:


      Turn off mains

      Hold down left & right arrow buttons on front of receiver, and power up

      When the green circle lights up (about 15 seconds later), let go of the arrow buttons and press select

      After a few seconds either the play or record light will illuminate. If play lights up then everything is ok, if record lights up - bin it!!

      You need to leave the box for about 2 - 3 mins after doing this procedure before attempting to turn it back on...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION