Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree2Likes
    • 2 Post By Tsv81

    Rf2 distribution problems

    This is a discussion on Rf2 distribution problems within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I have a sky+ hd box with the rf2 outlet. I'm using channel 68 to broadcast the signal and ...

    1. #1
      Tsv81's Avatar
      Tsv81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rf2 distribution problems

      Hi,

      I have a sky+ hd box with the rf2 outlet. I'm using channel 68 to broadcast the signal and the rf2 power is switched on in the sky menu. When I connect the rf2 directly to my magic eye, it works perfectly. I'm trying to extend my system to distribute more magic eyes around the house. I've wired coax to my loft (from the rf2 out) to a slx8b amplifier (with digital bypass) and have run another coax to the same TV with the magic eye. The reception is awful with this setup. I've tried another amplifier and have tested all the cables individually but still can't resolve this. Am I missing something obvious? I've been trying to diagnose this all day!

      Any help would be much appreciated. Let me know if I've missed any information.

      Thanks
      Ty


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      How is the loft unit powered?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    4. #3
      Tsv81's Avatar
      Tsv81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      How is the loft unit powered?
      The slx8b in the loft is powered via the mains.

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Disconnect the slx8b amplifier and connect the input co-ax to each output co-ax in turn using a back-to-back adaptor. Check each output individually for picture quality and magic eye operation to discover (or rule out) any problems with the cables.

    6. #5
      Tsv81's Avatar
      Tsv81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Disconnect the slx8b amplifier and connect the input co-ax to each output co-ax in turn using a back-to-back adaptor. Check each output individually for picture quality and magic eye operation to discover (or rule out) any problems with the cables.
      Hi,

      I've tested this already and the picture quality is fine without the amp. This includes the magic eye feedback.

    7. #6
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Have you connected the co-ax cable from the Sky boxes rf2 output into the correct (uhf) input and is the "power on" LED illuminated on the amplifier?

    8. #7
      Tsv81's Avatar
      Tsv81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Quote Originally Posted by seawright View Post
      Have you connected the co-ax cable from the Sky boxes rf2 output into the correct (uhf) input and is the "power on" LED illuminated on the amplifier?
      Yes - the amp led (blue) is on and I've connected the coax to both the UHF and VHF inputs (just to test). I've even mocked up a temporary short coax to a tv I've moved to the loft and still no joy.

      Thanks for the help btw

    9. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,520
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 389 Times in 379 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Without expensive test equipment to check what is happening it is difficult to diagnose further though you could try modulating a different channel instead of Ch68. Also turn off rf2 power and connect amp. o/p directly to a TV without using magic eye. If you have a 6dB in-line attenuator you could also try this on the feed into then out of amp. while rf2 power remains off.
      With all above tests you should be looking for an improvement in picture quality.

    10. #9
      Tsv81's Avatar
      Tsv81 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2014
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      Ok so I've found a resolution that will hopefully help a lot of people. Basically the distribution amp has a 4g filter on it which filters out the higher channels (60 and above). Once I changed it to 50, it worked straight away. Sky has a default channel of 68 which works without the amp and that's what threw me off. All sorted now! Thanks for the help.
      bubblegun and seawright like this.

    11. #10
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Rf2 distribution problems

      A good result!
      Thanks for the feedback!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION