Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By erniec1978

    Magic eye problem

    This is a discussion on Magic eye problem within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Good day to you all. I seem to be having problems with my magic eye. Ive connected it to RF2 ...

    1. #1
      erniec1978's Avatar
      erniec1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01542
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Magic eye problem

      Good day to you all.

      I seem to be having problems with my magic eye.

      Ive connected it to RF2 9v outlet on my SKY box direct...Lights on

      Connected it to end of coax cable...Lights on + signal received by sat box

      Plug into TV Light off. No remote signal but good picture.

      Do you think it may be My Samsung Plasma TV that might be incompatible?

      Thanks in advance

      Keith


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      re: Magic eye problem

      Try an additional length of co-axial cable ( fly lead ) between the eye and the Aerial In on the Samsung.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      stevek54's Avatar
      stevek54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Magic eye problem

      Hello. I am having trouble with me tv eye link. I get picture and sound okay on the second set and the Sky remote works for on and off and volume but I can't change channels or use the tv guide. I've checked everything like RF 2 ON, the cables the channel number but still no luck. I'm wondering if the tv link is faulty. It's only a few months old. Any ideas what else may be wrong?

    5. #4
      erniec1978's Avatar
      erniec1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01542
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: Magic eye problem

      Right, I seem to have solved my issue. I believe the voltage that is sent through the coax through RF2, when plugged into my TV is somewhat cancelled by my tv.

      What I did was to carefully cut about 10mm of the coax outer plastic sheath between the eye and TV.

      Cut the braided outer copper wire.

      Tape over the exposed part.

      Wrap tinfoil round the worked on part.

      Some more sparky tape over the whole lot.

      Essentially stopping the voltage going to my tv but allowing tv signal to pass.

      Now I have red light on, a tv picture and able to change the channel through RF2.

      Regards

      Keith
      Scubbie likes this.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to erniec1978 For This Useful Post:

      Kenedin (19-06-12)

    7. #5
      juliogdiana's Avatar
      juliogdiana is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic eye problem

      Quote Originally Posted by erniec1978 View Post
      Right, I seem to have solved my issue. I believe the voltage that is sent through the coax through RF2, when plugged into my TV is somewhat cancelled by my tv.

      What I did was to carefully cut about 10mm of the coax outer plastic sheath between the eye and TV.

      Cut the braided outer copper wire.

      Tape over the exposed part.

      Wrap tinfoil round the worked on part.

      Some more sparky tape over the whole lot.

      Essentially stopping the voltage going to my tv but allowing tv signal to pass.

      Now I have red light on, a tv picture and able to change the channel through RF2.

      Regards

      Keith

      I have same problem.

      Just to confirm, did you leave the braided outer copper wire cutted?

      Thanks

    8. #6
      Grendell's Avatar
      Grendell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Clandon
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2012
      Location
      Surrey
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Magic eye problem

      Hi
      An off the shelf soultion would probably be to plug in an Antenna Cable Isolator berween the remote and the TV. A quick Google search will find them for about 20 quid (with UK type UHF connectors on it).

      But why watch Sky via RF ????

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION