Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    sky + without a connected phone line

    This is a discussion on sky + without a connected phone line within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; thank you very much for your help...

    1. #11
      jess290789's Avatar
      jess290789 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01626
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2011
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky + without a connected phone line

      thank you very much for your help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      kanga's Avatar
      kanga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Oxfordshire
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + without a connected phone line

      Quote Originally Posted by daveyham View Post
      I had my first sky + installed by the installer when I moved into a new house 3 years ago. I did not have a phone line.
      Then upgraded to sky + HD just over a year ago, its still not pluged into a phone line. No problem to date.
      Give them a ring and explain your situation, see what they say.
      same here

      it just means you cant purchase box offic stuff using your remote - you have to call them up

    4. #13
      HamMan's Avatar
      HamMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Fareham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Gosport, Hampshire, UK
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + without a connected phone line

      I had multi-room with a Sky HD box (non-recording) installed last November. (Already had a Sky+ box)
      I wanted to upgrade the Sky HD box to a Sky+ box but was quoted a silly price by Sky!
      I got a Sky+ HD box from a friend (who was going cable!) installed it and phoned to get it paired OK and it is working. The concern I now have after reading this forum is - now that the Sky HD box has been disconnected and my Sky+ box installed what will happen when Sky try to "poll" the line to check the boxes? Will I end up having to pay extra? If so is there a work around?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky + without a connected phone line

      If the box has been 'paired' by Sky, you have nothing to worry about. As long as both boxes are connected to the same phone line, that is the only check.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      HamMan (26-01-12)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION