Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    No Satellite Signal on some channels

    This is a discussion on No Satellite Signal on some channels within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All, I currently have a SKY + HD box with 2 mix (knowledge & news) and sports pack. I ...

    1. #1
      akan's Avatar
      akan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Hi All,

      I currently have a SKY + HD box with 2 mix (knowledge & news) and sports pack. I live in an apartment with a communal dish.

      Since last Thursday, I've lost signal on quite a few of the channels I used to have. Some of these are:

      Five
      Comedy Central
      Dave
      Living HD
      Sky News HD
      All the sports channel (HD and non HD)

      The funny thing is, while Comedy Central and Dave have no signal, Comedy HD and Dave Ju Vu works fine, and Sky news works fine too.

      Called SKY and went through the trouble shooting procedure (reboot box etc), no luck and they said they'd send an "engineer", but haven't booked in yet cause they're only available weekdays.

      Question: Do I have a faulty box or is there problems with the communal dish?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      If you're on a communal dish, the first question is always - "Does anybody else have the same problem?"

      Your quoted channels are on different transponders beaming on different frequencies, so it's entirely possible to see, for example, Dave, but not Dave Ja Vu. You may have a box fault. Is it a Thomson?

      The other thing to try is connect someone else's box to your setup and see if you still have this problem. If the problem disappears, your box is faulty. If not, the communal system is.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      akan's Avatar
      akan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Thanks Kenedin.

      Its an Amstrad, only 3 months old.

      I've reported the problem to the building manager, but looks like I am the only one having the problem. Cannot get hold of another HD box, but still have the old SD box (no SD viewing card though). Any channels I can test without the viewing card?

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Most of the channels look to be high band horizontal. Dave is a High Vertical channel.
      Try Dave on the SD box with the HD boxes smartcard. As its not a premium channel it should work.
      Sky News SD is High, Vertical and free so try that.

      Can you try Discovery SD with the HD smartcard, thats high horizontal.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    6. #5
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Check the connections at the back of the box. Make sure they're nice and tight.

      Are we talking about the temporary 'No Satellite Signal' messages that can appear on communal systems when switching channels, or are these channels permanently unavailable?

      Run through the failing channels on the HD box first and make a note of which fail permanently with 'No Satellite Signal' - your C5 for example. Then pop the card into the other box and do the same again. You won't get any subscription channels, but if the other box is working OK, you'll just get the 'Call the Broadcaster to upgrade etc etc' message. It's the permanent 'No Satellite Signal' message we're looking for.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    7. #6
      akan's Avatar
      akan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Thanks guys.

      I am sure the channels are permanently unavailable. They were all fine before last Thursday.

      I'll give it a go tonight with the SD box. Will let you know how I get on.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      Check the connections at the back of the box. Make sure they're nice and tight.

      Are we talking about the temporary 'No Satellite Signal' messages that can appear on communal systems when switching channels, or are these channels permanently unavailable?

      Run through the failing channels on the HD box first and make a note of which fail permanently with 'No Satellite Signal' - your C5 for example. Then pop the card into the other box and do the same again. You won't get any subscription channels, but if the other box is working OK, you'll just get the 'Call the Broadcaster to upgrade etc etc' message. It's the permanent 'No Satellite Signal' message we're looking for.
      Thats wrong. He will get none premium channels he subscribes to. He won't get Sports or other premium channels. He should get C5.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      akan's Avatar
      akan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Turns out to be the communal dish. The building manager had an engineering in yesterday afternoon to look at it. It was all fine when I got home. Strange I was the only one reporting the problem though?!

      Thanks for your help.

    10. #9
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Quote Originally Posted by akan View Post
      Strange I was the only one reporting the problem though?!

      .
      Maybe nobody else noticed
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    11. #10
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: No Satellite Signal on some channels

      Maybe noone else has sky

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION