Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 29

    SKY + HD Samsung problems

    This is a discussion on SKY + HD Samsung problems within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; That's probably the best solution, as Ken says, it looks like it need the HDD replaced....

    1. #11
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      That's probably the best solution, as Ken says, it looks like it need the HDD replaced.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.






    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      Slightly off topic, but has anyone actually tried formatting a Sky HD drive on a Windows-based pc, using Disk Management ( XP - or same idea in Vista, W7 ). If you can successfully format it as a secondary drive, it would mean the drive is OK, so presumably you could put it back into the Sky box to be reformatted ( NTFS overwritten ) by the System Reset procedure? Seen it mentioned a few times elsewhere. Copy+ author thinks so, but let us know if this is a viable option as a final step in checking disk integrity. Might give it a go on my good old Thomson drive Maxtor 300Gb in W7 one day.
      Last edited by Kenedin; 05-10-10 at 12:04 PM.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      I formatted a 320Gb drive from a Sky+ box in Windows and now use it in a caddy as a backup drive. It was OK to begin with though, it hadn't failed in the Sky box. It might be different if it had been failing in the Sky box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      ntscforever's Avatar
      ntscforever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      Quote Originally Posted by ntscforever View Post
      I have just contacted the seller he said that is going to change for me...
      could u imagine? The seller didn't change me the receiver because he said this is not what I bought from him...shame
      what I can do now?
      Even if I try this nothing happens
      Full System Reset via front panel:

      1. Remove power at mains.
      2. Hold LEFT+RIGHT.
      3. Apply power, wait for ring to light.
      4. Release LEFT+RIGHT, press SELECT.
      5. Ring cycles backwards while disk is quick formatted.
      6. If format sucessful PLAY lights up, if not RECORD lights up.
      7. Box goes into standby - wait 30 seconds are wake it up.
      Last edited by ntscforever; 24-10-10 at 08:58 PM.

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      The seller didn't change me the receiver because he said this is not what I bought from him
      What did he say he sold you, a pink elephant? If you did buy it from him, I think I would pursue it further, especially as he initially agreed to change it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      ntscforever's Avatar
      ntscforever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      he said that I detached a seal and he doesn't want to help me further...more than 15 emails...I am fed up.
      What I can do now? This receiver let me watch channels even hd ones but I can't record nothing due to same error system fault but is changed n. now is
      21-52R

    8. #17
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      That's another hard drive error code. Your HDD is probably knackered.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to Kenedin For This Useful Post:

      ntscforever (25-10-10)

    10. #18
      ntscforever's Avatar
      ntscforever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      That's another hard drive error code. Your HDD is probably knackered.
      so what I have to do now?
      if I change hdd is not more expensive than buying an other receiver? In this forum there is nobody who knows where may I get a decoder
      Last edited by ntscforever; 25-10-10 at 11:14 AM.

    11. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      It depends what you are paying for the receiver and what you would pay for a HDD. In UK we we can buy a suitable drive for a HD box for about 36 euros, which is a lot less than buying a box. I don't know what you would pay in Italy.
      320GB SATA 3GB Pipeline HD Internal 3.5 Hard Disk Drive With the power to run Media servers, Media PC, High definition PVR's and much more.: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

      We can tell you where to get a box in UK, but I don't know about Italy. They may ship overseas.
      TheDigiboxShop | Sky+HD Boxes 500GB / 1.5TB Amstrad and Samsung

      There are always second user boxes available on eBay sky hd boxes items - Get great deals on Consumer Electronics, Everything Else items on eBay UK!

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #20
      ntscforever's Avatar
      ntscforever is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2009
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + HD Samsung problems

      ok many thanks I will try with these websites

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION