Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Spooky TV!

    This is a discussion on Spooky TV! within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I was woken about 4.30am by voices coming from downstairs. I cautiously crept down the stairs and found the television ...

    1. #1
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Spooky TV!

      I was woken about 4.30am by voices coming from downstairs. I cautiously crept down the stairs and found the television had switched on.................... very strange I thought and turned it off, and crept back to bed.
      I have just put television on now and found that the Sky Box updated itself in the night and that must have been why television came on and the box insisted that I watched some information film before I could put a programme on.
      But why would it put televison on when it updates?
      Very weird that and also feel it could be a hazard in some circumstances - or if you were away from home you would be worried when you returned to find the televison on - you might worry that you had someone in house!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Spooky TV!

      It could have been worse. Most Haunted could have been on when you realised.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      Did you switch the tv off properly? As in with the switch on the front? It shouldnt do that if it's properly switched off

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    5. #4
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      Yes, the TV was switched off................

      and I use both the remote control for TV and the Sky Box [the code did not work on the Loew tv] and they were facing away from tv/box.

      has anyone else ever had that happen?
      Last edited by jmd1; 24-08-10 at 10:08 PM.

    6. #5
      steve16751's Avatar
      steve16751 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: newas
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Location
      washington
      Posts
      2,867
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 25 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      jmd1
      Hi a lot of new TVs when you switch the TV off there is a red light which puts the TV on to standby. You need to turn the TV of at the wall socket. or unplug the TV.

    7. #6
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      Yes, the TV was on stand-by but I do not understand how the sky box updating itself should turn the TV actually on!

      I do unplug when away etc but normally leave it on standby but have decided rather than being woken in the night I will start to unplug tv!

    8. #7
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      It's called HDMI control and if the tv is in standby and not off off then it can be switched on by it.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    9. #8
      jmd1's Avatar
      jmd1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01909
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Spooky TV!

      Thanks for that information.
      Though have only thought it operated if you were only using one remote control.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION