Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky+ not working.

    This is a discussion on Sky+ not working. within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, First time posting, but have been lurking for a few years. I just wanted to say a huge thank ...

    1. #1
      olearydj's Avatar
      olearydj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      North Yorkshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ not working.

      Hi,

      First time posting, but have been lurking for a few years.

      I just wanted to say a huge thank you for all the advice posted here.

      My Sky+ box decided to stop working for most of yesterday, and after trawling through all the similar posts, I managed to bring it back to life this afternoon.

      Thanks again to all the posters here, think you saved me a call out from Sky.

      Keep up the good work !!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Good that you got it sorted. Could you please tell us what was wrong, make of box, and how you fixed it? May be of help to others with a similar problem. Thanks.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      olearydj's Avatar
      olearydj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      North Yorkshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Hi,

      I have a Thomson box, had it about 2 years.

      Yesterday I had to turn off the power in the house for about 5 mins, then later when tried to turn the Sky box on, nothing. Just had the red standby light on.

      I tried turning off at the wall, holding down back up - nothing, still red light.

      It finally came on but with no Sky + functions and my planner missing.

      I tried the planner planner rebuild, nothing.

      Then today, I pulled out the mains plug for about 90 mins, and by some miracle when I powered it back up, it all worked and had all my recorded programmes still - joy !!

      Cheers !!

    5. #4
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Keep an eye on it. There may be more problems to come.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    6. #5
      olearydj's Avatar
      olearydj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      North Yorkshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      @Kenedin Oh how right you were.........

      It has been working fine since Sunday, then this morning my little boy turned tv on as usual, but no Sky+ just the red light glowing

      I pulled the plug out of the wall for about an hour, plugged it back in, and it eventually came back to life, but like before, no Sky+ functions.....

      Is it time to get a new box?

    7. #6
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Not necessarily. Make sure the box isn't overheating somewhere under/over other AV gear. You could try a forced software update, although from what you say, it does sound like the usual Thomson capacitor problem. Same as on the Thomson HD box. It has the same PSU & capacitors. Open the lid ( easy ) and have a look inside for leaking/bulging caps on the PSU. Pics of dodgy caps here. If the red light is coming on, the box is repairable. Alternatively, phone Sky for a callout or source another Sky+ box yourself from somewhere else.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    8. #7
      olearydj's Avatar
      olearydj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      North Yorkshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Thanks, I have had it powered off for most of the afternoon, and tried the forced software. It finally came back to life about 10 mins ago, but no Sky + functions.

      Oh well, it's working at the moment, so my little boy is happy to watch cartoon network.

    9. #8
      simonmpoulton's Avatar
      simonmpoulton is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chester Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1,620
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Most likely the PSU then it warms up and then stops working properly. Get it repaired now before it breaks other things such as the hard drive in the box - if it does that theres no way to recover the recordings.

      Pace SKY HD With Seagate Pipeline HD 2TB

    10. #9
      lauraeast's Avatar
      lauraeast is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Everyday Lite
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Hi

      I too am having a problem with my sky+ box. Got home last night and had no satellite signal, on screen message said to pull the plug out of the mains for 1 minute. I did so and now all I can get is the red standby light. Cannot get the box to turn on at all through remote or buttons on the box.

      Switch it off all night and tried again this morning still no joy. Do I need to get a new box ?

      Thanks
      x

      Have found some ways of trying to fix, will give them a go - thanks !
      Last edited by lauraeast; 26-08-10 at 10:57 AM. Reason: ANSWERS FOUND

    11. #10
      olearydj's Avatar
      olearydj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      North Yorkshire
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ not working.

      Quick update on my Sky+ box.

      After 2 weeks of no sky+ functions, I called Sky, had a little rant, explained I had been with them for years, had their b/band and call package, threatened to go to Virgin................

      Sky engineer turns up next day with a replacement box - and no charge !

      So now have an Amstrad box, so hope it lasts a bit longer than the Thomson.

      Thanks again for everyone's help/advice.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION