Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    New sky + box help please

    This is a discussion on New sky + box help please within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi I wonder if anybody can help me please I have a sky + box (the old silver one) which ...

    1. #1
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New sky + box help please

      Hi

      I wonder if anybody can help me please

      I have a sky + box (the old silver one) which is playing up so I need to get a new box

      Would anybody be able to tell me if I buy a new box do I just put my viewing card in and the box will work??????

      Also what is the latest (newest) sky + box ????

      Many thanks
      Nik


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      It is a simple case of fitting the new receiver and then ringing Sky to pair the card with it which usually takes 5-10 minutes.

      The problem you may have is that there is not an abundance of new Sky+ receiver out there as Sky are now supplying HD receivers for customers without the HD (usually if you don't have a HD TV).

      It may be worth ringing them and getting an upgrade to HD as it may work out cheaper in the long run.

    4. #3
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      Hi
      Thanks for coming back to me . I have seen a few sky + boxes for sale on Ebay. I think people are selling the and upgrading to HD themselves.
      If I do manage to get a sky + box would you happen to know what number I would need to call at sky to pair the card with the new box I always seem to get all the wrong areas when I phone up and have so much trouble talking to them.

      Many thanks

    5. #4
      hipaul500's Avatar
      hipaul500 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanrumney
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      If you wanna im me maybe we can do a deal, I have a Pace PVR3 Sky + box not been used for a year and this was a replacement for my old one.

      This replacement was brand new so in total only used for about 2 months then idle for 12 months.

      I upgraded to HD if your wondering why no use.


      I will also be selling my HD box on June the 7th if anyone is interested it is a Samsung 320gb and is 12 months old on that date.

      Bye for now.

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      Yes, one from e-bay will be good, just remember that you could be buying someone elses problems.

      As for the number to ring, just go to a premium channel and ring the number that comes up on the screen, that's what I do anyway and have never had a problem.

    7. #6
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      Hi

      I managed to get hold of an hd box. my mate used to have multiroom and does not use it anymore so gave me a box (nice chap)
      Anyway what did you mean got to a premium channel to get a number?? what is a premium channel

      could anybody tell me the number so I can calll sky to marry my card to my new box please

      Many thanks
      Nik

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      Just go onto the sports channel 401 and ring the number that comes up on screen.

    9. #8
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New sky + box help please

      Many thanks Smithy99

      Kind regards
      Nik

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION