Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 44

    Getting Sky Plus

    This is a discussion on Getting Sky Plus within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; it is, quad lnb has 4 outputs and sky+ needs 2, so using the splitter will knacker your sky+ box, ...

    1. #21
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      it is, quad lnb has 4 outputs and sky+ needs 2, so using the splitter will knacker your sky+ box, because satellite dosent work like an aerial


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      sylvanmartin's Avatar
      sylvanmartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      west lothian
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      have you tried it and why can't I do it like that

    4. #23
      sylvanmartin's Avatar
      sylvanmartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      west lothian
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      I have another one I am with sky protect plan well they help set it up for me.

    5. #24
      sylvanmartin's Avatar
      sylvanmartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      west lothian
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      anyone help me I am going to tell all what I have for the sky plus box to get it set up and from that plz tell me what to do next plz.

      1*sky plus box
      1*sky plus remote
      2*sky 2 meter cables
      1*2 way splitter for sky
      1*normal sky cable
      1*quad LNB

    6. #25
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      It's simple, you need the quad LNB fitted to the dish and two cables from that to your Sky+ receiver.

      You CANNOT use that splitter, it will not work and may damage the receiver.

      If this is beyond you (and it seems that it is) do yourself a favour and get someone out to do it for you, it will be cheaper in the long run.

    7. #26
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      ok small explanation, each tuner is connected to a lnb output which tunes into the channel frequency a single lnb is -

      sky+ has 2 tuners(to watch/record 2 channels) and needs 2 outputs so the next lnb with enough outputs is a quad lnb - , a quad lnb is like 4 single lnbs squeezed into 1

      2 cables must run from 2 seperate inputs down to the sky+ box, one for each tuner/input

      also this should help - http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/page10.htm
      on each end of each cable you must put a f connector How to fit F Connectors to coaxial cable
      put self amlagating/electrical tape over the connector and pull dont the cover on the lnb if there is one

      using a splitter would mean the sky+ inputs will each try to tune the 1 lnb output to the differnt places, like a compass it can only point on way, so yu would need 2 compasses to point east and west

      then when you have checked the signal strengths run a system update http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-s...sky-boxes.html

      then yo will be ready to go, if you follow this you wont go wrong

      also where did you get the sky+ box from? i dont think sky protect covers 2nd hand boxes

    8. #27
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      Paul, you have the patience of a saint.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    9. #28
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      saint paul

    10. #29
      sylvanmartin's Avatar
      sylvanmartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      west lothian
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      I am getting someone out for 60 you can call me an ass all you wont just goes to show me that I am not good at any thing to do with sky box or cables.

      There was two other things and this is not to do with sky plus this is to do with sky player on my pc and xbox360 how on my pc can I not get to watch lost steamed the only way I can watch it is downloaded it and with sky player on my xbox360 all the time I goto watch lost and others it allway slow down and crash all the time.

      Thank you all

    11. #30
      sylvanmartin's Avatar
      sylvanmartin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Location
      west lothian
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Getting Sky Plus

      also how do I add a picture to my avatar photo.

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION