Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

    This is a discussion on Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi First post is unfortunately due to a problem with my recently purchased (2 weeks ago on eBay) Amstrad DRX280 ...

    1. #1
      thedino's Avatar
      thedino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      Hi

      First post is unfortunately due to a problem with my recently purchased (2 weeks ago on eBay) Amstrad DRX280 Sky+ box. The box itself is not very old, approx 3 months old so the seller told me.

      However last night when I got home the red standby list was not on at all. So I checked the leads, changed the fuse in the plug and tried the lead from the box in the bedroom - no joy!

      I've been with Sky for about 8 years now and only had to replace my old Pace Sky+ box as it failed after 5 years of good service! Obviously I'm reluctant to call sky and arrange for an engineer at 65. I have emailed the seller on eBay, but I'm not expecting too much joy from him as he states no returns on his listing.

      I have tried the usual full reset and forced software update tricks but as there is no power to the box at all, this does not work.

      Is there any checks I can do myself? Internal fuses....etc?

      Thanks
      Dean


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      GSMGuy's Avatar
      GSMGuy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: HD+ Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      526
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      DRX280 not coming out of standby is a common fault, could be a one off, or possibly the power supply failing.

      Sky list a procedure to try first...

      Sky.com - Sky Help Centre>Product Help


      HTH

      Mike

    4. #3
      thedino's Avatar
      thedino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      Hi Mike

      Unfortunately it's not even stuck on standby. No lights on at all, no power seems to be getting to the machine.
      I've tried replacing fuses, leads, different sockets....

      Dean

    5. #4
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs up Re: Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      its broke mate you need a new power supply and its not worth it to replace . sorry
      if it was a red light stuck i could off helped get it working again .. sorry
      samsung sky hd 973004(upgraded 500gb) also pace sky hd 9F3004. fitted with a 65cm triax solid dish.
      SAMSUNG PS50B450 50" plasma tv.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html check this out if our havin probelms

    6. #5
      thedino's Avatar
      thedino is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      Quote Originally Posted by jasonx1 View Post
      its broke mate you need a new power supply and its not worth it to replace . sorry
      if it was a red light stuck i could off helped get it working again .. sorry
      Well that's rubbish!! Not happy with the eBay seller at all now... money down the drain!

    7. #6
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Thumbs up Re: Amstrad DRX280 - Won't Power Up

      sorry to hear but thats what you get from ebay . most off the time its best go for the shops on there as ebay is like a car boot you get what you think your getting

      best thing is try looking at your local papers in the cassifies ads . or on advert sites on the net . then at lease you can take it back to the house
      samsung sky hd 973004(upgraded 500gb) also pace sky hd 9F3004. fitted with a 65cm triax solid dish.
      SAMSUNG PS50B450 50" plasma tv.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-h...d-sky-box.html check this out if our havin probelms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION