Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    2 sky boxes off one input line.

    This is a discussion on 2 sky boxes off one input line. within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, i will try to be as brief as possible but want to try and get my question across. After ...

    1. #1
      TPM's Avatar
      TPM
      TPM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      2 sky boxes off one input line.

      Hi, i will try to be as brief as possible but want to try and get my question across. After i moved house a sky engineer said he could not re-install my multi room package due to having a conservatory (health and safety reason) as i wanted the multi room box in my bedroom. I currently have sky+ in my living room and have the extra multi room box in a cupboard.

      Question is can i put a splitter in the cable from the dish to the sky+ box and run another cable upstairs to the bedroom and connect the multi room box upstairs, then when i want to watch sky in bed take the viewing card out of the sky+ box and take it upstairs with me?

      Hope it makes sense.

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      I doubt it, but could you not run an additional feed from your dish following the route into your lounge and then up to your bedroom in the manner you would have used in your suggestion.
      Or get a local contractor to do the job for you.


    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      I doubt it, but could you not run an additional feed from your dish
      I think access to it may be the problem, if the dish is positioned above the conservatory. If it can get access, a hydraulic access platform may be one way to get to the dish safely. Otherwise a specialist to erect a scaffold over the conservatory may be the only other way. Both methods would be expensive.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      smegs's Avatar
      smegs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Langley Mill
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      Get yourself a new dish, and put it where you can get to it. You will need new wires, I think a Quad LNB and a Sat Finder.

      I'm sure someone will put me right if I wrong.

      Good luck.

    6. #5
      TPM's Avatar
      TPM
      TPM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      Thanks for the replies. I did not want to touch the dish and change lnb as i dont know how to get the sky signal back.

    7. #6
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      You should already have a Quad LNB, so all you have to do is wire an additional feed to it. Its a lot safer than what you were originally proposing.


    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      You cannot split the signal feeds, if you do you may damage both receivers and it wouldn't work anyway.

      Get Sky to fit a second dish where needed and run two cables from there (they should have done this anyway when they called) to the bedroom. Job done and if you ever have a fault on the existing dish, you can just run the cables into the new one to save all the hassle of H&S again.

    9. #8
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think access to it may be the problem, if the dish is positioned above the conservatory. If it can get access, a hydraulic access platform may be one way to get to the dish safely. Otherwise a specialist to erect a scaffold over the conservatory may be the only other way. Both methods would be expensive.
      You might also look into getting the company that built the conservatory (or a similar local specialist) to come in to remove a sheet of glass to give you access to remove or service the dish. May well be a cheaper method.

    10. #9
      Darth Sky's Avatar
      Darth Sky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01246
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      Throw a large rope over the house next to the extension, find or ring the largest member of your family and tell him to hold the rope tight at all times.
      Walk around the other side and climb the rope, walk towards dish and do repairs / connections.

      Easy Peasy.

      PLEASS NOTE
      Communication may be required between you and the fat guy!
      ************************************************** *******************

      P.S. You know who I meant! lol!

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 2 sky boxes off one input line.

      walk towards dish and do repairs / connections.
      Every tried walking on a conservatory roof

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION