Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

    This is a discussion on Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings! within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Got a new Sky card this morning for my + box. After phoning Sky and some messing around swapping cards ...

    1. #1
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Angry Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Got a new Sky card this morning for my + box. After phoning Sky and some messing around swapping cards twixt ordinary multiroom box and + box both the boxes were receiving the right programmes.

      But, now I can't playback recordings made with the previous card! Just get a message "recording interrupted - please wait". That doesn't enable the recording!

      Am I stuffed, or will another call to CC put things right?
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Did you put the right card in the right box.

      The information on the sheet the cards were stuck to gives you the old card numbers for you to compare them against.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    4. #3
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Yup! It was all done whilst talking to Grace at CC. She told me which card to put into which box!
      There was only one card sent to me. That was to replace a card that had been replaced about three months ago. Hence my call to CC!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Bump!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      The Realist's Avatar
      The Realist is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Anything
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre 100GB Trial Gold X
      Router: Sky Q Hub Mk7 Trial Gold
      Sky TV: SkyQ/Motorised
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Behind You
      Posts
      1,049
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 29 Times in 29 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Ring Sky and get to pair the card up to the box.

      Should work then.
      Disclaimer: The views expressed here are my own and in no way represent the views or policies of my employer.


    7. #6
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      The card is paired up and has been since the switchover. I can record and playback new recordings and access all the subscribed channels.

      What I can't do is playback recordings made with the old card.

      Three calls to Sky later and they say they don't understand either why I can't playback recordings made with the old card. Each time they confirm the pairing!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #7
      jasonx1's Avatar
      jasonx1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: virginmedia
      Broadband ISP: virginmedia
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Location
      scunthorpe england
      Posts
      101
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      once you changed over to the new white sky card
      the old blue card is useless and cant be used anymore
      which is a shame as i could off sold it on to my brother lol

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      I bet they have sent the card for the wrong receiver, that would explain why it is working fine now but won't play any old recordings.

    10. #9
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Popped in new card but now can't playback recordings!

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      I bet they have sent the card for the wrong receiver, that would explain why it is working fine now but won't play any old recordings.
      Hmmmm! I think that may be it!

      Ah well, SWMBO is coming round to the idea that we will just have to bite the bullet and wipe all the old ones!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION