Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16

    Sky+ sound synch probs

    This is a discussion on Sky+ sound synch probs within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Originally Posted by Old_nick Thomson HD box, Dolby output, most channels (I usually watch BBC or Sky One). The problem ...

    1. #11
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      Quote Originally Posted by Old_nick View Post
      Thomson HD box, Dolby output, most channels (I usually watch BBC or Sky One). The problem completely cleared when I realigned the dish after fitting a quad LNB.

      I also noticed another strange anomoly the other day - our dish is on a wall overlooking a flat roof, which we can easily access by climbing out of the office window. A couple of weeks ago my wife decided to go out on to the flat roof to clear some leaves from the gutters whilst I was watching something on Discovery HD, and at one point she was slighly obscuring the dish when she climbed a ladder. At that point the HD picture completely froze, whilst the sound continued with no stutters. When she cleared the dish, the picture suddenly resumed from a later point in the programme, with no picture breakup at all. Very odd.
      When you watch BBC or Sky One is it the HD version (which have Dolby) or the SD (which is standard PCM stereo)?
      I would say there are still a few little issues with Dolby which still need tweaking either at source or within the box.
      A few times when I've seen lip synch issues, a channel from and back often fixes it as it forces the box to regather. Re-aligning the dish likely interupts the RF feed to the box, and when its restored its like having done a channel change which then appears to have fixed the issue.
      There is no p in Thomson.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      I always watch the HD version wherever possible. As I have said a couple of times before, the problem with lip sync does not occur now, since I re-aligned the dish when I changed to an octo-LNB (it wasn't a quad - my mistake).

    4. #13
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      How long ago did you re-align the dish?
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #14
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      About a year ago, may have been two years.

    6. #15
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      Quote Originally Posted by Old_nick View Post
      About a year ago, may have been two years.
      Its not quite a year since Sky admitted they had fixed a lip synch issue with HD. How many software changes have also occurred both within Sky's equipment and the STB in the last two years? I've explained why lip synch isn't signal strength related, I think your re-panning and the re-synching are coincidence.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    7. #16
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sound synch probs

      So why was it when my wife walked in front of the dish, the picture froze, but the sound carried on ?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION