Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Buy Sky+ or Sky HD box?

    This is a discussion on Buy Sky+ or Sky HD box? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi folks, I currently have a bog standard Pace sky box and am planning to upgrade to Sky plus now ...

    1. #1
      David_D's Avatar
      David_D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Buy Sky+ or Sky HD box?

      Hi folks,

      I currently have a bog standard Pace sky box and am planning to upgrade to Sky plus now but with view to upgrading to sky HD sometime in the future (when there seems to be enough content to warrant it)

      I plan to install the new box myself and I've recently noticed new HD boxes for sale on ebay.

      My question is (are!)
      Should I buy a sky+ box now and part-ex it when I want HD, or buy an HD box now but don't pay the 10 subscription for a while. Is this possible? Is the HD box reliable & stable? Are Pace (or anyone else) likely to be making a mk2 HD box

      Cheers
      David


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site David

      I am not sure how that would work buying off Ebay that is, but if you intend to use the + feature you would have to pay 10 a months for the privilege if you don't have multi room added and that cost 10 a month anyway plus it would cost you an extra 10 a month for the HD on top of all that once you do decided to do it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      You'd also need a QUAD LNB & to run a extra CT100 IF cable from the dish to the stb for the extra transponder.Quad LNB's are around 30-40 a pop.

    5. #4
      David_D's Avatar
      David_D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi Guys,

      Thanks for the replies,

      My current Sky subscription is high enough that I won't have to pay more for sky+ and I've already provided the additional LNB & cabling etc.

      I guess what I'm really asking is; could I buy an HD box now but only use it to watch non-HD channels thereby not needing to pay Sky the 10pm HD subscription and then when HD has matured and there is plenty of content I could start paying for it knowing that I already have the appropriate kit in place.

    6. #5
      David_D's Avatar
      David_D is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad form to reply to your own post but ...

      It's technically possible to do what I ask but sky won't enable the sky + functionality unless the HD subscription is paid

    7. #6
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I'm a ex-Sky installer & I've put in HD boxes.Quite often the recording facility is swithched on before the HD sub.But,I'd wait off.NTL are releasing their own PVR system over the next few weeks,By XMas hopefully,so talk when I was with Sky was that they'll be giving the Sky+ boxes away to compete.

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thats figures I always buy and a year or 2 later they end up giving them away or charging peanuts for them so if I am lucky by the time I am ready for HD they will be giving them away as well
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #8
      mart!'s Avatar
      mart! is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      There is an interesting rumour here:

      Sky HD January price drop? - Digital Spy Forums

      It basically says that from 7th Jan the HD box will be 199 and the 10 sky+ fee will be dropped for everyone. It also suggests that the 10 HD fee may be dropped, but I'm sceptical about that one? If true, it is likely that the standard sky digibox will be dropped and the sky+ box will be given away free as standard?

      I would hold off until next year if I was you!
      Last edited by mart!; 20-12-06 at 12:01 PM.

    10. #9
      feriakhtari's Avatar
      feriakhtari is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Buy Sky+ or Sky HD box?

      I also have a bog standard sky box. If I bought a sky+ box(not hd) from ebay say, can I just connect it up and use the features such as recording etc, or do I have to pay more to sky to be able to do this?

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Buy Sky+ or Sky HD box?

      As long as you have at least the minimum Sky TV subscription the Sky+ features are free, you will need to ensure you have a quad LNB and a second cable from the dish to use the recording features etc as the Sky+ & HD both need two feeds to work properly.

      Once you have connected up the new receiver and put in your card you will need to ring Sky to get them to pair it with the receiver and also turn on the Sky+ features.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION