Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

    This is a discussion on Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4 within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; For some reason my Amstrad skyplus box, no longer receives both Radio 3FM (0103) and Radio 4 (0104), from 3 ...

    1. #1
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      For some reason my Amstrad skyplus box, no longer receives both Radio 3FM (0103) and Radio 4 (0104), from 3 days ago. The screen banner appears OK, but no sound comes through.

      Intermittently reception is established, but only for a few seconds. All other channels are good.

      I have strong signal and signal quality, I've tried both a box, and LNB re-set, to no avail. Also still on the old viewing card incidentally?

      Has anyone else experienced this problem just lately, is there a cure?

      If you can help or advise, I'd be most grateful.

      Martin


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      No problems with radio 3 here. BBC stuff is unencrypted and I'm still on the old card so its not related to card.

      BBC News is on the same transponder. Any issues with that?

    4. #3
      djandyb's Avatar
      djandyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      My father in law has exactly the same problem with his Sky+ box.

      BBC News OK just R3 & R4.

      Any ideas folks?

      ATB

      Andy

    5. #4
      coveyducks's Avatar
      coveyducks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      Hiya, Yes exactly the same problem with an Amstrad Sky + box. Tried a system restore and a forced software update but no change.

      Cant live without the Archers. Please Help.

    6. #5
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      No problems with radio 3 here. BBC stuff is unencrypted and I'm still on the old card so its not related to card.

      BBC News is on the same transponder. Any issues with that?
      No, I can receive all other news channels OK, just Radio 3 & 4. It's been fine for the 8 months I've had Sky + and I first noticed it last week.

    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      I looked on a HD+ box. Do you have the box set to select AD audio? I'm trying to work out what the affected boxes are doing different to my box.

    8. #7
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      I looked on a HD+ box. Do you have the box set to select AD audio? I'm trying to work out what the affected boxes are doing different to my box.
      I have checked through the 'sound settings' on my Sky Plus, and that option does not appear on my menu?

      All that's there is Stereo/Mono and then an option for normal or Dolby D and Normal. I'm set on Stereo & Dolby D.

      It occurred to me, they're might have been a very recent Software Update and that maybe, it could have compromised reception? Currently my box is on 5.04.e and operating system 1.31BO7.

      Thanks for your time, by the way

    9. #8
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      BBC News is on the same transponder, if you don't have problems with that then its not a reception issue. I'm off to bed now but will check the Pace Sky+ box I have up there.

      AD is controlled on in the same menu as subtitles are turned on and off. If you don't know what I'm talking about then you don't use AD! I turned it on and it made no difference to BBC Radio 3.

    10. #9
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      BBC News is on the same transponder, if you don't have problems with that then its not a reception issue. I'm off to bed now but will check the Pace Sky+ box I have up there.

      AD is controlled on in the same menu as subtitles are turned on and off. If you don't know what I'm talking about then you don't use AD! I turned it on and it made no difference to BBC Radio 3.
      Found it and tried it, same response as you - no change. Also very intermittent reception on Radio 4 LW (0143)?

    11. #10
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Loss of reception Radio 3 & 4

      Yep my Pace SD + box also has no audio on those channels.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION