Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Just got Sky+

    This is a discussion on Just got Sky+ within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hey, First time to ever have a contract with sky for TV, so pretty new, but things seem straight forward ...

    1. #1
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got Sky+

      Hey,

      First time to ever have a contract with sky for TV, so pretty new, but things seem straight forward atm... But these are some cons that i've managed to come accross already, and i'm sure someone's had this experience before....

      But my problem is that i realize u need a multibox to be able to operate your own channel in ya own room.... unless someone knows another way around this? As i am currently having to change the Aerial signal everytime to watch sky in my room, or switch it back to let me dad watch it in the lounge etc.etc.

      Also the next problem is that when ever i put the aerial for my room, theres nothing my dad's able to view on his TV... that goes for Free View which is part of the TV, this is being viewed in a laggy/jolty situation.... and if we attempt to watch normal aerial TV where u get bbc 1, 2, itv 3, channel 4 (mayb 5?) but yeh, these dont work what so ever...


      Any1 had these problems before? any replys are helpful :]

      Cheers!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      Your Dads set should be connected to the Sky box via The Scart connector.

      The Aerial is connected to the RF input connector on the Sky box, RF1 output to the main TV.
      The best way to connect your bedroom TV is via the RF2 output, this needs enabling.
      If you want to control the Sky channels remotely you could buy a magic eye like this one.
      tvLINK-Black


    4. #3
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      Your Dads set should be connected to the Sky box via The Scart connector.
      So wot your saying is that i should connect my dads box to the box in my room via a scart connector ?


      With the other stuff you said, i kinda got confused what your trying to point out or makeing me understand, if you got the time to help me understand a bit more, that would be great :]

    5. #4
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      double post....

    6. #5
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      Where is the Sky box located, in your room or your Dad's room?


    7. #6
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      When i got the guys to come and install it they installed the box in my room, but the wire is going through the wall, into the living room, and into a wall socket there (looks like an aerial), and an old Sky box my dad has from a friend which is in the living room, but the one that came with this new order is in my room.

      This is my situation with the phone line > http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-s...ining-sky.html

      Hope any of this helps! (my phone line should be activated by end of this month!!)

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      So your TV is located by the Sky Box, and connected via Scart, the aerial lead is also connected from an aerial point in another room.
      You are unplugging this lead when your dad wants to connect the aerial to his TV in his room.
      The simplest solution is to run another coax cable from the RF2 output on your Sky box to his TV. He will then be able to watch normal TV and whatever Sky channel you have selected.
      You enable RF2 like this:

      To turn on the RF2 in the installer menu of your Sky set-top box:

      Using your Sky Remote control in front of your Sky set-top box:

      1. Press the SERVICES button.
      2. Press the NUMBER 4 button [System Set-up].
      3. Press the 0,1 then the SELECT button [Installer menu].
      4. Press the NUMBER 4 again [RF Outlets].
      5. Press the DOWN ARROW button once [Outlet power supply].
      6. Press the SIDE ARROW button once [turning power on].
      7. Press the DOWN ARROW button once again [save new settings].
      8. Press SELECT.


    9. #8
      istat's Avatar
      istat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got Sky+

      Thanks for the reply, and yes you've cleared it up thats exactly whats going on when me dad wants to watch Sky in the living room... ^^ hopefully this will work, ill see what happens when i get back from work and something positive should come out of this i hope!

      Would this allow my dads TV to watch freeview / normal TV / what ever is going on on my box in my room (but he wont be able to change anything that im watching from sky if hes tuned in?)

      As for now i gotta wait for work to finish... THANKS!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION