Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

    This is a discussion on SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Has anyone experienced an issue with the Amstrad SKyPlus box. From time to time, if RF2 is connected (for Magic ...

    1. #1
      jphamblett's Avatar
      jphamblett is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01691
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      Has anyone experienced an issue with the Amstrad SKyPlus box.
      From time to time, if RF2 is connected (for Magic Eyes) the Skyplus box doesnt respond to the remote control either via the magic eye or standing in front of teh Unit itself. The Buttons on the Skyplus work ok.
      I have to power the unit off for 20 Mins, disconnect RF2, power the unit on and turn of the power on RF2 before connecting RF2 again.
      This works but I loose the magic eyes.
      If I turn the power onto RF2 sometimes it will work for about 1-3 days or will just lock up again.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      You may have interference or a poor connection on the RF2, you need to remove the eyes one at a time to see which one is causing it.

      ie, remove feed one, if it does it again, put it back in and remove feed 2 etc.

    4. #3
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      When you (for magic eyes) do you mean you have 4 magic eye's connected? If so it could be that your overloading the box, I dont know that there designed to have more than one connected.

    5. #4
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      I have three eyes and a powered splitter all working OK! The problem is likely to be either a poor coax connection or a faulty eye!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #5
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      I have three eyes and a powered splitter all working OK! The problem is likely to be either a poor coax connection or a faulty eye!
      Thats what I mean, you have a powered splitter, so the eyes will be getting some of there power from there. If he is reallying the sky box to power all 4 that could be an issue. "Just a thought"

    7. #6
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      The splitter is powered from my Sky box too!!!!

      If you don't know, don't guess!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      The splitter is powered from my Sky box too!!!!

      If you don't know, don't guess!
      You got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning Nedd

      When you said "powered splitter" I also assumed it was just that a powered one, ie from it's own source.

      I still think we are right about the cause of the problem though.

    9. #8
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      The trouble with assumptions is that they are invariably wrong!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      If you were more specific I wouldn't have had to assume

      I cannot read minds you know, next time I will ask if it makes you feel any better.

    11. #10
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: SkyPlus Amstrad, Remote Fails intermittantly when RF2 Connected

      Why are you having a go at me? The comment below wasn't even made to you!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      The splitter is powered from my Sky box too!!!!

      If you don't know, don't guess!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION