Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

    This is a discussion on Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I have a load of programmes recorded on my Sky+ box, Is there a way i can get them ...

    1. #1
      Geoffhar's Avatar
      Geoffhar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      Hi, I have a load of programmes recorded on my Sky+ box, Is there a way i can get them onto the hard drive of my Apple mac?? so i can burn them to disc as i do not have a dvd recorder.

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      The only way you can do it is to use a TV/capture card, play the programs in real time and record them. TV cards are readily available for PCs, so I would think they will be available for Macs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      The reason you have to use a TV Card (and record in real time) is the signal recorded to your Sky+ hard disk is encrypted and is only decrypted by the Sky+ box when you play the programme.

    5. #4
      Geoffhar's Avatar
      Geoffhar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      18
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      Thanks, I'll look into getting a TV card for my mac, Do you plug the sky box into the card press play on sky+ then record it on the computer?

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      Yes you would use the RF out on the Sky box to connect to the capture card, just as you would connect to another TV. You would then use the card's software to record the input from the Sky box, after you had started the program playing.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      fergyc's Avatar
      fergyc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blyth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Can i Copy from Sky+ to my Mac

      Use a scart that lets you split the connection into composite video and composite audioo to plug into your capture card fro better quality

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION