Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    No anytime red button

    This is a discussion on No anytime red button within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Do a software update. De power, hold the back up button on the box down, re connect power without letting ...

    1. #11
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Do a software update. De power, hold the back up button on the box down, re connect power without letting go of the back up button, keep it pressed untill all the lights on the stb light up. You will get an on screen message saying updating system software. If you have a flat pannel tv, turn it off to avoid the possibility of screen burn, wait till all the lights go out, then wait another 2 mins before turning the stb back on.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Sky plus model numbers shows the sky+ boxes

      forced software can be done by Frequently Asked Questions

    4. #13
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Beat you to it Redwarfcrew

      Did you enjoy the match, top of the shop again, at least until tomorrow
      watched the first half on tinernet, missed all the fun of the second so about to watch it on MOTD. We're hanging in there, but Man U look as tho they will run away with it.

    5. #14
      jaydee456's Avatar
      jaydee456 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      what type of sky+ box
      Let us know your model number..
      It is a Thomson DSI 8210CSR (and it wasn't a freebie) we paid 99 + install for it.

    6. #15
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      You need to do the forced software update then as it is a PVR3 and capable of anytime.

      See FAQ 10 Frequently Asked Questions

    7. #16
      jaydee456's Avatar
      jaydee456 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Thanks guys That looks a bit complicated to me. will check it out.
      Just one more thing before I do. Did I read somewhere that you lose all your recordings if you do that forced update.???

    8. #17
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      No, you will loose nothing.

      It's really simple to do.

      Unplug the receiver, hold down the backup buttom on the receiver (not the remote) plug back in and turn on, all with the button being held down, follow instructions on screen, may take 10 mins to complete.

    9. #18
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Nope, all will be fine and it's a piece of cake.

      - Power off the box at the mains
      - hold down the BACKUP button on the box (not remote)
      - with backup held down, power back on
      - when on screen message about updating appears, let go of back up button
      - box will auto reboot when it's done.
      - wait a few mins and then switch out of standby as normal

      Anytime should then appear, but it will be empty until the next overnight download of programs.

    10. #19
      jaydee456's Avatar
      jaydee456 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: No anytime red button

      Thats great guys. Thanks again will leave it till tomorrow I think.

    11. #20
      jaydee456's Avatar
      jaydee456 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southampton
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Re: No anytime red button

      Quote Originally Posted by jaydee456 View Post
      Thats great guys. Thanks again will leave it till tomorrow I think.
      Morning all I was very brave and gave it a go.
      It went beautifully and I now have a red anytime button.

      Thanks a lot for your advice.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION