Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

    This is a discussion on Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; We've just had our share of heavy snow, during which we lost the signal on our Sky+ box. So, we ...

    1. #1
      andyswain's Avatar
      andyswain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0177382
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      East Midlands
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      We've just had our share of heavy snow, during which we lost the signal on our Sky+ box.
      So, we thought we'd just watch something we'd recorded before...
      But no - we couldn't!
      We got a screen message saying it couldn't playback when there's a poor signal.

      Surely, this shouldn't be a problem for it?
      (Does Sky HD have a similar problem?)

      The more I use Sky+, the more quirks I find...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      It's not a quirk, its to prevent you from taking a sky+ box over to a mate who does not have sat and watching a programm. HD will be the same

    4. #3
      andyswain's Avatar
      andyswain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0177382
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      East Midlands
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      Ok. Brian69.
      I suppose I understand the logic. But I can hardly believe there'd be that many people willing to un-hitch their Sky+ box, to take it for a walk to their friends house, just to watch a show.
      Considering the number of times we've lost signal in bad weather, despite having a good install, I'd have thought it inappropriate to suddenly drop out of playback, when there's a glitch in the received signal.
      Oh, well. C'est la vie!

      Andy.
      (a former software system design engineer...)

    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      If you have a good install then you should not loose your signal that often. I did my own and only loose signal in a thunder storm, maybe once a year for about five mins

    6. #5
      andyswain's Avatar
      andyswain is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0177382
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      East Midlands
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      Normally we have a very good signal strength, but, when there's bad weather moving into the Peak District, it does affect us.

      If the bad weather is heading west, it gives us 15-20 minutes notice that we're about to have torrential rain or a thick flurry of snow!

      At least Sky gives us programmes for almost all the year, unlike the local TV 'repeater'...
      I'll just be thankful for what I've got!

    7. #6
      disappointedwithsky's Avatar
      disappointedwithsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      Had the same thing happen. Horrible weather preventing a signal being received and so thought I could at least watch something already recorded to the drive and I get same message you receive.
      Clearly material is on the box and even plays for a second or two before message comes on and stops further play.
      I thought about this and had come to the conclusion that Brian69 confirms, but I came on line to look about about as I COULD NOT believe even SKY could be that selfish. But there you go...
      As you say, who could be bothered to unplug everything and transport it somewhere else? People with no VCR?
      So to 'spite' what must be a tiny minority of people SKY deliberately incorporate a set up which makes their typical customers' experience more miserable when it need not be.
      I hate SKY and the way it does business. I have just come back after a long lapse because of pressure from the kids but otherwise (or if there was any competition) I would never do business with them.
      Sorry repeating myself now, but I detest having to deal with a company whose business philosophy works this way.

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Why can't sky+ playback when poor signal

      Oh I dont think Sky are that bad, after all they give you a PVR for peanuts Like all large co, you do need to keep them at arms length and just use them for the service/services you want, and not get sucked in to a large bundle which could make a move to another provider difficult.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION