Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

    This is a discussion on Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I've got an issue with my sky plus box. I've got a Windows media player that I would like to ...

    1. #1
      vialde's Avatar
      vialde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      I've got an issue with my sky plus box. I've got a Windows media player that I would like to use as an mp3 jukebox and dvd player through my sky+ box. When I plug the media centre into the vcr/dvd scart nothing happens when I turn the Media Centre on. If I turn the sky box on and then off again I get a glimps of the media centre desktop and then all I get is snow? Any ideas why this might be? Any help would be fantastic. With my old DVD if I switched it on when sky was on the dvd scart was selected automatically. Not happening in this case.

      Cheers,

      Vialde


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      The VCR scart is an output not input. Can you not connect up directly to the TV via the scart?

    4. #3
      vialde's Avatar
      vialde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      It was serving as an input for my old dvd player. In that set up the output from the dvd player only went to the sky box. I'm using an svideo to scart adapter from the media centre. Perhaps the automatic scart management on the sky box isn't picking it up for that reason. As I said, I get a brief glimps of the Media centre desktop when I switch the sky box off. Any ideas?

    5. #4
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Quote Originally Posted by vialde View Post
      Perhaps the automatic scart management on the sky box isn't picking it up for that reason.
      Your old DVD put a switching voltage on pin 8 of the SCART lead which caused the Sky box to switch over.
      I'm guessing your S to SCART adaptor is a passive device and doesn't provide the same switching voltage.
      I'm not aware of any kit that will solve your problem (which doesn't mean that there may not be one).
      You might have to get an external power supply (wall wart) to provide 12v to pin 8.

      Andy

    6. #5
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      You don't want 12v!!! Pin 8 is a 5v DC, negative ground.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Just connect it directly to the TV then select the source from the TV remote.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      You don't want 12v!!! Pin 8 is a 5v DC, negative ground.
      Pin 8 as well as being a switching signal is also used to signal 16:9 or 4:3.
      5 to 7V would force widescreen on relevant equipment. 7 to 12 V would be 4:3.
      So anywhere between 5 and 12V should be OK for a switching signal.

    9. #8
      AndyJG's Avatar
      AndyJG is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWSHAR (South Harrow)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      187
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Quote Originally Posted by Woodster View Post
      You don't want 12v!!! Pin 8 is a 5v DC, negative ground.

      I think you will find that that is 6 volts and was used in the past to signal to suitably equipped TVs that the signal being sent was 16:9 before they could detect the line 23 widescreen switching signal for themselves.
      If you send it to a not suitably equipped TV it can cause all sorts of problems as I found out some years ago.

      I've just measured the pin 8 out on a random DVD player and it was + 12.01 volts.

      Andy

    10. #9
      vialde's Avatar
      vialde is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Thanks for all your replies. I'm trying to do everything through the sky box as I don't have the original remote to switch the source. Looks like my s to scart adapter is a passive one so I'm gonna have to pull the trigger on a new remote.

      I got lost in all the voltage and wall wart talk, but thanks again.

    11. #10
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Media Player difficulties with 2nd scart

      Can you not get the remote code for yout TV and use the Sky remote to switch it?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION