Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    DVD Scart connection

    This is a discussion on DVD Scart connection within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I would appreciate it if someone could tell me the EXACT connections to make from my Sky+ box to my ...

    1. #1
      janeyanne's Avatar
      janeyanne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      DVD Scart connection

      I would appreciate it if someone could tell me the EXACT connections to make from my Sky+ box to my TV and DVD/Video tape recorder.

      I do not have an RF aerial connection as we do not get terrestrial channels where I live so it's just the Scart connections I need to get correct.

      The equipment has the following sockets marked:
      The Sky+ box has a TV socket and a VCR scart socket.
      The DVD recorder has an AV1 (TV) socket (DVD/VCR)
      and an
      AV2 (Decoder) socket (DVD/VCR).

      I would like to be able to copy programmes from my Sky+ planner onto DVDs.

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Quote Originally Posted by janeyanne View Post
      I would appreciate it if someone could tell me the EXACT connections to make from my Sky+ box to my TV and DVD/Video tape recorder.

      I do not have an RF aerial connection as we do not get terrestrial channels where I live so it's just the Scart connections I need to get correct.

      The equipment has the following sockets marked:
      The Sky+ box has a TV socket and a VCR scart socket.
      The DVD recorder has an AV1 (TV) socket (DVD/VCR)
      and an
      AV2 (Decoder) socket (DVD/VCR).

      I would like to be able to copy programmes from my Sky+ planner onto DVDs.

      Thanks.

      Ok,

      Sky+ TV scart to scart1 on TV (AV1)
      Sky+ VCR scart to AV2 (decoder)

      DVD/VCR to scart2 on TV (AV2)

      To watch Sky+ put TV on AV1
      To watch DVD/VCR put TV on AV2

      To record from Sky+ to DVD/VCR chose copy on the Sky+ and put DVD/VCR on AV2 and record.

    4. #3
      janeyanne's Avatar
      janeyanne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Thanks for your reply.

      I connected as you suggested. The picture on AV1 is fine but when I go to AV2 with the DVD recorder switched off, I get the same picture as AV1 but without sound. When I switch on the DVD recorder, I just get a scrolling distorted picture.
      Obviously, I have something wrong.

      When the Sky engineer set up Sky+, I could put the TV on, put a DVD in the recorder and either play or copy from Sky+ planner - without changing AV1/AV2 etc. I had one less Scart lead too!

      Problems have only started since moving the stuff to redecorate in the TV corner - everything else is working fine.

      Help would be much apprecated.

    5. #4
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Take the scart out from TV AV2/Decoder. On your DVD/VCR, one of the scarts should be an "IN/OUT", normaly designated to AV2 and should have a small rectangle with a 2 headed arrow crossing one side moulded into the socket on the dvd, but not always. Use this one and connect it to the VCR socket on the sky box.

    6. #5
      janeyanne's Avatar
      janeyanne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Done that.

      Now when I switch on the DVD recorder, it loads but I can then do nothing - it does not respond to the Setup or Timer, etc. on the remote nor, when I press Play, does it show a picture (although the counter moves on).

    7. #6
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Strange??
      Just to clarify, you have a scart going from TV scart on sky box to AV1 on TV, and you have a scart from VCR on sky box to AV2 on the DVD/VCR. This setup should work!

    8. #7
      janeyanne's Avatar
      janeyanne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Yes.
      Sky box: TV to TV AV1
      Sky box VCR scart to DVD AV2 (decoder)

      Just checking - I have 2 Scart leads only
      "empty" sockets:
      TV: AV2
      DVD: AV1 (TV)

      Is this OK?

    9. #8
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Should be fine!! Make sure the scarts are pushed fully in,but if it don't work, try the TV scart on the DVD.

    10. #9
      janeyanne's Avatar
      janeyanne is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01274
      Broadband ISP: Sky Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      22
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Scarts fully fitted.
      A bit confused now. You say try the TV scart on the DVD. Do you mean move the lead from DVD AV2 to the AV1 (TV)?
      I tried that but then if I switch the DVD on, I get "Toshiba DVD" and a display of the loading on the TV screen - didn't get that before!

    11. #10
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: DVD Scart connection

      Thats what should happen if you use the TV scart on the DVD!! The DVD over-rides the sky box on AV1. But it should do the same thing if you plug into AV2 on the DVD. If you can get that screen using AV2 on the DVD, you just need to select the input channel on the DVD to AV2, then it should display the sky box until you put a disc in and press play.
      Last edited by Woodster; 12-01-09 at 11:31 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION