Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Convert from sky to sky +

    This is a discussion on Convert from sky to sky + within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, Any advice would be appreciated..... I have a normal sky box and dish, a friend of mine is changing ...

    1. #1
      Skittlegrey's Avatar
      Skittlegrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Convert from sky to sky +

      Hi,

      Any advice would be appreciated.....

      I have a normal sky box and dish, a friend of mine is changing to Sky + HD, and no longer requires his old Sky + box and has given it to me. I understand from him his, old Sky + box which is now mine requires two feeds from the dish?? and that I will need to change the box on the bottom of the dish.

      Please can anybody advice what I need to use his Sky + box, and can I do it myself? I am quite happy to run new coax cable and change parts on my dish. Just need to know what to buy (and where to buy it)

      If anyone can help with this it would be much appreciated.

      Best Regards
      Jamie


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      Hi

      You would need a dual or a quad LNB, some coax and some F connectors - if you want to use both boxes, you will need the quad one. Run a new feed to the site of the Sky+ Box, so that it has two feeds, and then take the old card out of the old box and place in the newer one. Ring Sky and get them to pair the card with the newer box.

      If you want to use both boxes, you would need an additional card / multiroom as well if you want to watch all the channels that you would normally get on the box that you currently use.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Skittlegrey's Avatar
      Skittlegrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      Hi,

      Brilliant thanks for the info, but as always prompts more questions!

      Are the LNB’s generic or do I need to find out what dish I have and then pair the correct one?

      How much should I look to pay for a dual LNB, just had a quick look on EBay going for about £20

      Can you recommend were to buy one from?

      Last question, are there any problems with asking SKY to pair the new box?

      Thanks Again.

      Jamie

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      An LNB should be available on eBay Try and get a quad if possible, just incase you decide to upgrade or add an extra STB in the future. £20 is about right (with postage)

      As for the card and pairing up, a two minute job normally.

      I will try and find you a link for the LNB.

      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/BRAND-NEW-QUAD...3A1|240%3A1308 as an example
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Skittlegrey's Avatar
      Skittlegrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      Hi,

      Thanks very much for your help and advice, going to order one now through the link you posted!

      Thanks again.

      Regards
      Jamie

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      You may also want to consider this type of cable.
      10m Black Twin Satellite Shotgun Cable Sky Plus & Clips on eBay, also, Other Satellite Cable, Satellite Cable Freeview, Consumer Electronics (end time 17-Jan-09 14:58:35 GMT)
      You get everything included and it looks a lot neater. Its actually around the same size as the standard single cable so will pull thru the existing hole.
      If you search the sellers items for sale you will find it in various lengths and in either black or white to suit the colour of the outside of your house.
      Also you dont need to wait to pair the box & card, you can do it now. Obviously you wont get the full functionality until you upgrade the lnb & cable. You will be able to record 1 programme at a time and pause live tv etc.
      Last edited by dholdi; 01-01-09 at 06:58 PM.


    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      Just so you know you can also get twin coax cable, but the same thickness as one of the older types. This would then save all the extra drilling etc.

      Dholdi is the one who could advise more on that, as he has already used it.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      ^^^^ Beaten to it.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      Skittlegrey's Avatar
      Skittlegrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Convert from sky to sky +

      Thanks Guys,

      LNB and Cable on order!

      Regards
      Jamie

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION