Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Signal Weirdness

    This is a discussion on Signal Weirdness within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, We fitted an Octo-LNB (purchased from SatCure) a few months ago and run all the cabling ourself as part ...

    1. #1
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Signal Weirdness

      Hi,

      We fitted an Octo-LNB (purchased from SatCure) a few months ago and run all the cabling ourself as part of a major electrical work we were having done.

      We already have Sky and have been using it with one standard box. We got Sky out to fix a Sky+ box on Wednesday. On playing around with it, we found that the signal 2 wasn't showing anything and unlocked - even if we swapped the cables round on the box - it still showed signal 2 not working - ie the fault didn't follow the cable. Pulling the power seemed to cure the problem.

      Just came home tonight and found a similar issue. This time Signal 1 had nothing and unlocked. I went to pull out signal 2 to swap them round again and found that when I pulled it out, signal 1 came on. Push cable 2 in and singal 1 goes off. Did this several times and the same thing. Another pulling of the power fixed the problem.

      I have noticed other posts stating that some of their recordings do not work sometimes if they are trying to record at the same time etc. This might be a related issue??

      Anyone else seen this?

      Thanks

      Adam.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Chances are you have a faulty receiver, you may need to get Sky back out to swap it.

    4. #3
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post
      Chances are you have a faulty receiver, you may need to get Sky back out to swap it.
      I am kind of hoping this is the case, rather than the LNB.

      Do LNB's go wrong often. If I call Sky, will they try and suggest it is the LNB instead?

      Out of interest. The shielding/outer core. Does this carry any signal at all? If there is an inline connector on both cables and they are touching, will this case any problems?

    5. #4
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Have now emailed Sky Support to see what they say.

      I fear this is going to be a long drawn out problem :-/

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Did the Sky engineer call for this fault, if so then he should come back and do whatever is needed to repair it or swap out whatever parts FOC, including the LNB. although it does sound more like a receiver fault.

      Both the inner and outer core carry signal, they must be connected to work, if you have a couple of back to back inline f connectors this should not be a problem if fitted correctly.

      I would ring them, eaiting for them to respond to a e-mail over this may never happen.

    7. #6
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Hi,

      Sky didn't come to look at the fault, they came to actually install the Sky+ box. All other cabling was in place and tested seperately.

      The outer shielding I was asking about. I have two cables coming from the LNB to the lounge and both of them have inline connectors on them at the same point. So basically the shielding on both cables are touching. I can't see it being a problem - just a guess

      I will call Sky today.

      Thanks for your comments

      Adam.

    8. #7
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      You forgot to state the make and model number.
      Sky plus model numbers

      If it's a Thomson, my money's on the PSU capacitors. See
      http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/page10.htm#miss
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 21-12-08 at 04:37 PM.

    9. #8
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Hi,

      The model number is: Amstrad 4F2117.

      I think I may have found the problem though. I have plugged in my old Standard box into another Sat port in another room and the signal seems to be now up to normal again. When I turned off the LNB power on the standard box the signal went down again.

      So I think the fact its an Octo LNB means it requires more power.

      I've heard there may be a problem with ground potential differences?

      Thanks

      Adam.

    10. #9
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      OK - maybe that didn't work after all!

      It seemed to be OK for awhile, but now it had dropped BBC2 first off and then the other channels. After a switch off and on BBC2 is still off, as well as BBC 3 and 4 (at a quick scan) - this with good signal (50-70%) on both ports.

      I have checked the standard sky box and that is receiving BBC2 without problems.

      Through all the testing I have done, the standard box has always had a near one full signal.

      Phone call back to Sky me thinks for box replacement, unless anyone else has any ideas?
      Last edited by eyeofthebeholder; 21-12-08 at 10:26 PM.

    11. #10
      eyeofthebeholder's Avatar
      eyeofthebeholder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Signal Weirdness

      Had Sky out today to look at the problems and they have replaced the box with a Pace one instead.

      Signal quality is a lot better - about 60% to 90% on both. Have tested recording two channels and all looks to be well at the moment

      The engineer saw I had put silcone around the cables going into the LNB, and said that they do not put it on now as they found the cables start to rot after about 10 years. I though this was the reason to put the silcone on in the first place?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION