Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky + kaput

    This is a discussion on Sky + kaput within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I got Sky + 2 months ago along with a new Samsung 32 " TV . Yesterday no Sky signal ...

    1. #1
      david moyes's Avatar
      david moyes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + kaput

      I got Sky + 2 months ago along with a new Samsung 32 " TV .

      Yesterday no Sky signal being received. My wife phoned Sky and went through a variety of ways of solving problem. No joy.

      Sky agent arranges engineeer to visit next Wednesday. Both items of equipment still under guarantee.

      Should we be paying for anything ? Anybody any idea of what problem could be ? It's not the batteries and the dish looks OK. Should we also be paying Sky in the meantime for TV etc (Sports Package)

      I am new to this forum and welcome all advice, comment but especially pactical suggestions as to the best way to resolve the matter.

      Thank you


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      Go into the services menu and check the signal, you should have 2 locked indicators.

      If you don't then your not getting any signal to the receiver. This could be either a faulty LNB, the dish has moved, a break in the cables or poor connections at either the receiver or the dish end.

      Check the connectors to the receiver first, then should be screwed in tight and the cable should be pushed right into them.

      Other than that you are best waiting for the engineer, if the dish has moved you could get a ladder and see if it is loose, with a bit of trial and error and someone at the TV end with a mobile you may get it back.

      You could push for a discount as the set-up is quite new but I wouldn;t get too carried away. Do you have a window cleaner, they have a habit of smacking the dish with their ladders when they are carrying them around

    4. #3
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      You don't say where you are?
      Yesterday, I had to spray car windscreen de-icer over my dish/lnb 'cos it was all covered in frozen snow and ice. First time I've had to do that for years. A couple of minutes later, normal service was resumed!
      Fortunately, I can reach my dish from the bathroom window!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    5. #4
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      You don't say where you are?
      Yesterday, I had to spray car windscreen de-icer over my dish/lnb 'cos it was all covered in frozen snow and ice. First time I've had to do that for years. A couple of minutes later, normal service was resumed!
      Fortunately, I can reach my dish from the bathroom window!
      Corr that is going back a bit, to mechcanical polorisers, that used to freeze up. Never had that problem with a universial LNB perhaps you'd better standby with a replacement

    6. #5
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      LNB was replaced less than 2 years ago! I think it was the amount of snow & ice that was the problem, probably causing the signal to go off its focal point a little!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    7. #6
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      Ah I see. You used to be able to get stuff to spray on to a dish to stop this happening, can't remember what it was called

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      WD40

    9. #8
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      It's a pity they can't feed a low current back to the dish/lnb, just enough to stop snow settling!
      It was probably Sky endorsed and called something like "Sky Dish De-icer" and cost a packet!

      Back to the point. Yesterday was a bad weather day in this area, snow & ice everywhere.
      Last edited by Ned Ludd; 05-12-08 at 06:37 PM.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      They do feed a low current back to the LNB

      Can you imagine the green camp, all those electric fires on the outside of peoples houses! Still it may improve our summers

    11. #10
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky + kaput

      Off topic, but when the Sutton Coldfield TV Transmitter was first opened in 1949, it was stated that the transmitter aerials had 17kW heaters to prevent them from iceing up I bet if the green mob had been around then all hell would have broken loose

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION