Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

    This is a discussion on SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All, I had a normal sky box and have just bought a SKY+ box from ebay. I plugged it ...

    1. #1
      nic1811's Avatar
      nic1811 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      Hi All, I had a normal sky box and have just bought a SKY+ box from ebay. I plugged it in and then realised I need another satellite input cable as I only have one. I have phoned 3 companies to ask about doing this and they are quoting 60+. I didn't think it would be such a big job, am I being ripped off? Whats the best way to go about it? Anyone know any sky engineers near Bellshill, lanarkshire? Many thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      You'll need a new dual / quad LNB and two f connectors, and a length of cable.

      You should be able to get it all from eBay for less than 30 if you are prepared to do it yourself.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      You will probably need a new LNA attached to your dish which could account for a costly install.

    5. #4
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      ^LNB
      if you can go up ladders ok then pop a new lnb on run some twin cable(or 2 seperate cables)through the old hole and bingo

    6. #5
      nic1811's Avatar
      nic1811 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      Thanks for your replies. Not sure whether to just pay someone though as I'm not too technical!

    7. #6
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      you dont need to be technical, just change the lnb which is easy, the one you need is a quad lnb search ebay and twin coax thats it, and some f connectors
      one at each end of each cable so 2ends x2wires =4

    8. #7
      Simon's Avatar
      Simon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLWW
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: ASUS DSL-AC68U
      Sky TV: Youview
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Worksop
      Posts
      488
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      If you look on Ebay..

      A Quad Lnb should set you back 10.00 inc P&P
      WF100 Twin Coax about 50p per mtr.
      Box of Cable Wall Tacks less than 3.00
      4 x F-Connectors 1.00

      So likelyhood outlay would be around 30

      The cable and connectors you may be able to get locally if you have something like a City Electrical Factors or Maplins store close by.

      Takes literally 5mins to switch the Lnb, it took me longer to get the ladder out than to swap it. Then probably 30mins to remove the old cable and run the new twin cable to the box.
      -

      Clothes may disguise a fool, but his voice will give him away...







    9. #8
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      6.00 quad lnb :Quad LNB
      1.97 clips :Cable Clips
      8.98 twin wf100 10m :http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/10m-WF100-Twin....m14]10m WF100
      0.98 f connectors x4 :F Connectors x4
      17.93
      equiptment 18 ,but the knowlege ... priceless for everything else theres me.
      Last edited by skypaulusplus; 27-10-08 at 12:50 AM. Reason: links

    10. #9
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      Am I correct in thinking the LNBs that Maplin sell aren't compatible with the Sky minidish?
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    11. #10
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: SKY+, have 1 feed, need 2, cheapest way?

      im not sure, i think all lnbs work

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION