Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

    This is a discussion on New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All just had a go at upgrading my old amstrad 40 gig box with a nice new 250 gb ...

    1. #1
      belmoreboy's Avatar
      belmoreboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Hi All

      just had a go at upgrading my old amstrad 40 gig box with a nice new 250 gb maxtor stm3250820a from dabs - wasn't at all bothered about keeping any recorded programs so just went straight in for a quick easy swap of drive - only thing is all it seems to be doing is making funny clicking noise ??!! and the box wont switch on and drive wont boot up?!

      I put old drive back in and re power up box works fine so must be the new drive - do i need to format new drive first with copy x ?

      or have i bought wrong h drive

      Cheers in advance for any tech advice


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      hmmm, should be fine. Have you set the jumper on the new drive to the same position as the old drive?

      As its <270Gb you should be able to do exactly as you have.

      Try it again, checking the jumper and making sure you have pushed the cables in properly (maybe the IDE cable wasn't quite connected????).

    4. #3
      belmoreboy's Avatar
      belmoreboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01603
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Hi

      Tried all those things even tried changing jumper but still the same clicking even tried changing ide cable for a spare i had which i also tested with the old drive and guess what what?!! it worked !

      im really stumped with this one if anyone else has had similar problems would be really good to hear from you

      cheers

    5. #4
      blondejon's Avatar
      blondejon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Exeter Castle Street
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      183
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      a clicking drive is never a good thing, i would have put it in a pc and used the manufacturers drive tools to make sure it was alright.

    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      yep would agree, you need to verify in a PC that the new HDD is actually all okay. Download the HDD tools off the manufacturers website and run the diagnostics.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Don't you need to copy the Sky software on to it to get it to work in a +box?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      googleme's Avatar
      googleme is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      896
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      ^^^ I Think you do. Not tried it myself though.

    9. #8
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Oops!
      Last edited by Ned Ludd; 07-10-08 at 05:33 PM.
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    10. #9
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Don't you need to copy the Sky software on to it to get it to work in a +box?
      Nope, not at all. It will format in the sky box fine you just need to do a full system reset.

      You only need copy+ for drives larger than 270Gb.

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New 250 gb Hard Drive Not Booting Up

      Then I would say the drive is probably faulty. Fit it in a PC and run SeaTools I would recommend the DOS version as it will run on any PC regardless of the OS and will diagnose a 'raw' disk. Full instructions for returning the drive are given if it is faulty.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION