Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    New to SKY +

    This is a discussion on New to SKY + within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Just got my box on Wednesday How long should I have to wait for Anytime...

    1. #1
      jtumath's Avatar
      jtumath is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey 0151 639 xxxx
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to SKY +

      Just got my box on Wednesday
      How long should I have to wait for Anytime
      John..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to SKY +

      Is there nothing there at all?

      Press TV Guide, then Red. Does it come up with a message?

      Normally 24/48 hours something will appear in there.

      If nothing is there or it says you need a subscription, maybe worth a call to Sky to check. I had to do this last weekend when the installer changed my box, but forgot to pair the old cad with the new box.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New to SKY +

      Also remember to leave your box on overnight

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to SKY +

      I always put mine in standby at night and still get the content. Or did you mean as in, don't unplug it or switch it off at the plug?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New to SKY +

      Yes, I meant don't switch it off completely. Mine is also put in standby, when I remember

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: New to SKY +

      sky+ boxes auto standby overnight which doesnt interfere with anytime
      when i got my box it took around 6 days before anytime started sky cst say it can take up to 14 days

    8. #7
      jtumath's Avatar
      jtumath is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallasey 0151 639 xxxx
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to SKY +

      Thanks team

      Looks like patience is the key.

      LATER

      Just rang CS to report a fault on my nice new shiney box and they confirmed it could take up to 2 weeks.
      Last edited by jtumath; 23-09-08 at 04:02 PM.
      John..

    9. #8
      Patrick1232's Avatar
      Patrick1232 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      NORTH WALES
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to SKY +

      HI NEW TO SKY PLUS.
      But have been a SKY user for ages 5 years at this address, and cant remember why in old address, as i bought my sky box so i could view free to air.
      but when i heard i was going to lose ch5 and ch4 i subscribed to sky.

      Sky plus was prompted by the change over in my area north wales on 09, plus my VCR tapes were playing up and i had some spare cash , so all added up.

      I just got my SKY PLUS on Saturday had to get up at 7.30am
      best move so far why did i not get it sooner ??

      so easy to record and good quality

      Just one question about recording, at the moment it set at automatic
      that is the start time and finish time, will i need to change that incase
      the program does not start at the time in the tv listings.???

      will a program be cut off at the end ? or is there cue transmitted at the end of a transmission that is detected??

      also what happens when a film is split in 2 either side of the news ?

      thanks for reading this

      Patrick in North Wales

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: New to SKY +

      The Auto setting allows a few minutes either side of the recording and will, or should take into account any overruns, but this is not guaranteed. It depends on whether the EPG is updated or not.
      If you want to record a film which is split by the News, you have to select both sections separately on the EPG. I was caught by this a few times when I first got +.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION