Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    no satellite signal is being received (29)

    This is a discussion on no satellite signal is being received (29) within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I started receiving this message a few days ago just out of the blue. I haven't had a problem with ...

    1. #1
      Mr J.'s Avatar
      Mr J. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      no satellite signal is being received (29)

      I started receiving this message a few days ago just out of the blue. I haven't had a problem with this previously but now this shows up and I can't view any channels. I've tried a few basic things like unplugging, removing and re-inserting the card but nothing is working. I also have 2 std multi-room boxes which are working fine. Any idea of what I can do to troubleshoot? Or should I just call Sky?

      Also another issue I have, is that the remote control only works from about 10cm away from the box. This happened about 2weeks ago, the batteries remote are fine. Could this be a problem with the infra-red on the box or remote??

      Thanks in advance for any suggestions


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Mr J.'s Avatar
      Mr J. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      Anybody???

    4. #3
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,390
      Thanks
      403
      Thanked 166 Times in 160 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      A quick Google search for

      "no satellite signal is being received" +29

      came up with the following threads which appear to contain some suggestions and advice which might be of help to you:

      help - No satellite signal is being received - Sky+ - Digital Spy Forums

      No satellite Signal (29) - Sky - Digital Spy Forums

      no satellite signal being received (29) - AVForums.com


      Good luck!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      Quote Originally Posted by Mr J. View Post
      Anybody???
      Sorry, missed this thread somehow.

      Anyway, input 1 is the one used to watch programmes, input 2 is the one used to record (unless two recording are happening).

      If you swap these around do you get a picture? if so then the you are getting no signal to the input one.

      This can be caused by either poor connections on the f-plugs, a damaged cable from the dish or a faulty LNB.

      Check the f-connecters, they sometimes work loose, chances are you have a quad LNB so you can swap the cables to different inputs.

      If you go to services then signal tesy you should be getting a signal on both feeds.

    6. #5
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)


    7. #6
      Mr J.'s Avatar
      Mr J. is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      I think it's something to do with the box. I tried my standard box and it worked with both the cables that the sky + box uses. So seems like my box has gone faulty, outside the warranty period which is typical. Guess I'll have to pay Sky 65 unless anyone has any ideas.

      Checked through those other forums but all seem to involve a replacement box.

    8. #7
      jimlad60's Avatar
      jimlad60 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      sky are trying to work out why it's happened, but to fix it i was instructed to do this...

      press services
      press 4
      quickly press 0, 1 and then select

      this will give you the installer setup menu.

      press 2
      this will give you the default transponder menu. now, my frequency was wrong so all i had to do was press red to reset it and it now reads 11.778 and all is well with my sky+HD again

    9. #8
      mrtuft's Avatar
      mrtuft is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chesham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      I'm now having this problem as well. With all the snow tonigt, my signal as it always does with heavy rain or snow cut out, but following a number of very short power cuts, i'm now getting the Code 29 thing. Thought that maybe the surge frazzled my Pace Sky+ box, so tried an old Amstrad standard box and am getting Code 29 on that as well. I have been through all of the checks/resets etc, but to no avail.

      There is a small pile of light snow sat on the LNB when I went outside to have a look. Anyone reckon that this could be causing the Code 29, if so, if it hasn't resolved itself by the morning, any ideas how I can fix the problem without calling out the cavalry? Having tested a 2nd box, i'm pretty sure it isn't there that the fault lies!


    10. #9
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      Use a hairdryer on the LNB or wrap Christmas tree lights around it.

    11. #10
      Ralph's Avatar
      Ralph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWNEDG
      Broadband ISP: BT Fibre
      Router: BT Smarthub
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      HA8 8R?, Edgware
      Posts
      129
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: no satellite signal is being received (29)

      HD Box. After forcing an update, I just had the 'No signal is being received' 29 message.

      Tried restarting resetting defaults, planner rebuild, powering down and more all to no avail.

      Phoned Sky. After health check, fix was simple. Power down, SWAP LNB FEEDS (I kid you not) power up and all was well!
      LWNEDG
      Unlimited

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION