Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

    This is a discussion on Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hello, I wonder if anyone can help please. I presently have a 'full' package with sky operating on the 'Pace' ...

    1. #1
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Hello,

      I wonder if anyone can help please. I presently have a 'full' package with sky operating on the 'Pace' DS440 box. I want to upgrade to Sky Plus, with a PVR3 unit I have literally inherited from a relative’s house (new still in packaging).

      I have had my aerial upgraded (Quad LNB) and two feeds laid on, telephone line all ready etc. Speaking to Sky (always a pleasant experience !!!), I think I eventually understood they will 'upgrade’ the viewing card for 'FREE', once the PVR3 box is installed, is my understanding correct at the current time please?

      I'm a little nervous about the veracity of this premise, and wonder whether simply calling Sky, after Aerial upgrade and a ‘foreign’ box installation results in a 'seamless' change (I understand it could take 48 hours anyway, during which Skyplus operates as per the service I have now?). Hard to believe Sky doing anything for a customer 'Free gratis'.

      I sound sceptical I know, but have found Sky Customer Services over the past 10 years, to be an abrasive set-up to deal with, and would rather circumnavigate dealing with them as much as possible
      Last edited by skydance; 26-08-08 at 10:57 PM. Reason: Punctuation


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      nope, just ring up CS when the box is all connected and ask for them to pair the card and activate the sky+ functionality.

      All standard process for them and the call should last a few mins (<5) once you're thru.

      It should all be working whilst still on the phone (although it can take longer).

    4. #3
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Thank you very much, you reminded me CS did mention 'pairing' when I spoke with them.

      Much appreciated

    5. #4
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      dont panic when sky anytime takes time to become active

      it can take upto a week before recordings start downloading and it will take a few days to build up some content

    6. #5
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Thankyou, nodrog, I must admit I did'nt know that bit.

    7. #6
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      just a bit more on the sky anytime..... as you say it is still new in the package, then you will need to do a software update to get the latest functions including sky anytime.

    8. #7
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      just a bit more on the sky anytime..... as you say it is still new in the package, then you will need to do a software update to get the latest functions including sky anytime.
      Thank you, is this very involved, or a menu function?

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      - pull out the power from the back
      - hold down the BACKUP button on the box (not remote)
      - plug power back in (with backup stilkl held down)
      - wait for onscreen message re upgrade to appear and then let go and let it do its stuff

      - do this with a SCART connection to the TV to get the on screen message.

    10. #9
      skydance's Avatar
      skydance is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01255
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: F@ST2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Frinton on Sea
      Posts
      123
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Thanks very much indeed Reddwarf

    11. #10
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      905
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts

      Re: Advice re Sky Plus Upgrade

      Sorry to hijack this thread but it is exactly what I need to know.

      When I had the Sky dish installed, I asked for a quad LNB dish, which was fitted. When I said I might upgrade to Sky+, the engineer ran a dual cable with dual connectors to my normal Sky box - the spare cable has a connector fitted on the end but is otherwise hanging loose.

      Does this mean that if I obtain a Sky+ box, say from eBay, all I have to do is connect the cables and ring Sky for a free upgrade?

      Regards,

      Felix

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION