Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Remote and TV external input

    This is a discussion on Remote and TV external input within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I've got a Toshiba TV, and the Sky + box comes in on EXT1 (The first of two scart ...

    1. #1
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      521
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Remote and TV external input

      Hi,

      I've got a Toshiba TV, and the Sky + box comes in on EXT1 (The first of two scart inputs) However I can't get the Sky + remote to select that input - it will do channels 1-18 and even 0 (Marked as VCR), but not the EXT channels - I don't suppose there is a way of getting the remote to select that input is there?

      Cheers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Remote and TV external input

      The Sky box should do it for you. It signals the TV via the scart connection.
      This would be blocked if you have another device plugged in and switched on on the other scart.


    4. #3
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Remote and TV external input

      Quote Originally Posted by penrhyn View Post
      The Sky box should do it for you. It signals the TV via the scart connection.
      This would be blocked if you have another device plugged in and switched on on the other scart.
      The Sky box will only auto switch to the scart on power up. If the OP turns the Sky box into standby and then back on again it should automatically turn the TV to the correct input.

      From his post I think he is trying to turn the TV over using the Sky remote but it won't select an external input.

      OP, you could try a different remote code for your TV to see if that makes any difference, as I said above, turning Sky off then on should also work.

    5. #4
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Remote and TV external input

      On TV mode my "help" button moves through the scart and av channels.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    6. #5
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      521
      Thanks
      48
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Remote and TV external input

      Quote Originally Posted by newbuilder View Post
      On TV mode my "help" button moves through the scart and av channels.
      Brilliant!! Thank you so much - the other methods didn't work for some reason or other, but the help button does!!

      Cheers mate!

    7. #6
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Remote and TV external input

      It's mentioned in the Sky Digibox user Guide:
      Free and not free eBooks

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION