Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    SKY + and DVD player help

    This is a discussion on SKY + and DVD player help within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi I wonder if anybody can help me please I have a sky + box and have just bought a ...

    1. #1
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY + and DVD player help

      Hi

      I wonder if anybody can help me please

      I have a sky + box and have just bought a sony HXD970 DVD recorder

      I'm not to sure how to rig it all up to my sky box as the manual that came with it is very confusing.

      If once I have got it set-up to my sky + would I loose all of my recorded programs on the sky + box, and my program links???

      would anybody be able to help
      Thank you
      Nik


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      Err - Connect a scart cable between a spare scart on the Sky box (if you have one) into a scart on the DVD recorder. In order to record you just have to play the programs on the Sky+ box and at the same time set the DVD recorder to record from that input. There is no trickery involved here just because it is a DVD recorder. Unfortunately it won't work other than in real time (ie it will take an hour to record a one hour program), just like a VCR.

      No changes will be made on your Sky box at all - Nothing will be deleted automatically just because you have recorded it to DVD and all of your program links will be intact.

      Not sure if this answers your question.

    4. #3
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      Thanks
      I have a thing called guide plus on the recorder which enables you to control your sky + box from your DVD player. I'm just wondering if it will mess up any settings on my sky box at all

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      After a quick search on Google I dont think the guide plus interacts directly with the Sky EPG it just selects which channel the Sky box needs to be on for a recording, It wont bring it on from standby either!
      Someone will correct me if I'm wrong.

    6. #5
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      would anybody know if I can use my sky box @ dvd recorder at the same time

      IE: record a program on the sky box and record a program onto the DVD recorders hard drive at the same time??
      Thanks
      Nik

    7. #6
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      You can record a terrestial channel on the DVD recorder, and still record on the sky plus box, or I guess a second sky channel as if you were watching it. You wouldn't then be able to watch another sky channel.

    8. #7
      NIK's Avatar
      NIK
      NIK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: ps9ypy
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      41
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      Thanks

      I think the best thing to do is rig it all up and play with it and see if I can break it

    9. #8
      Little Ted's Avatar
      Little Ted is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0113
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      I have a related issue regarding recording from Sky+ onto my DVD player.

      I have got a number of recordings on my Sky+ and want to transfer them to DVD using my Philips DVD recorder (so can let a friend borrow them to watch). I have set up the Scarts etc so that it is possible to record.

      However I seem to reguarly get "Disc error" on my DVD recorder when playing Sky+ and simultaneously recording on my DVD player (and the recording stops). Sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

      Am pretty certain that my DVD recorder is working ok so am wondering if there is any kind of copyright restrictions on recordings on Sky.

      Any advice welcome.

    10. #9
      critter's Avatar
      critter is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY + and DVD player help

      i recently bought a sony hxd970 too to copy from my sky+. Setting it up...just get a scart and plug into sky+ and dvd recorder. Then on the 970, you have to press the input button [top right i think, dont have the remote with me now] and select line 1. Thats all i had to do and it copies perfectly from sky to itself.

      About the recording and channel watching, i can only watch analogue channels when copying from sky+. My av1 has to show the thing i'm copying. the 970 will record the other channel if you switch over and even any sky blue pop up boxes. Hence i tend to copy at night or when no one is watching sky.

      with regards to the guide plus and epg, well i chose not to follow the 970 manual so my aerial is still plugged into my sky+ box so i cant answer.
      Last edited by critter; 27-05-08 at 12:30 AM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION