Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

    This is a discussion on Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi guys i have recently upgraded from a 40gb box which i had no problems with at all. But the ...

    1. #1
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      Hi guys

      i have recently upgraded from a 40gb box which i had no problems with at all. But the new + box every so often bleeps (when off) and then it sounds like the HDD starts spinning up, not just that recordings freeze quite a bit when watching them and when pressing favourites or navigating some menus there is a couple of seconds pause between it moving (even when pressing forward and rewind there are delays).

      Is all this normal?

      i never had any of these problems with my other box but dont know if its the bigger HDD thats slowing stuff down.

      Thanks in Advance
      Last edited by Coopz; 15-05-08 at 11:46 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      my thomson box doesnt have any of these problems
      have heard that amstrad boxes have noisy harddrives and pace boxes are no longer installed due to freezing issues(came from a senior installers mouth) at present

    4. #3
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      thanks for the reply

      ill ring up tomorrow and tell them its faulty

      i would like to hear is someone if with a Amstrad has these problems

    5. #4
      LyndyLou's Avatar
      LyndyLou is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rayleigh (EARAY)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      My Amstrad box did the same. Anytime is the problem. If you turn it off the box no longer bleeps and spins up when off except for your own timed recordings. Had no problems with recordings freezing and only had one failed recording, error message Technical Fault 10 (Whatever that means), since box was installed last November.

    6. #5
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      Quote Originally Posted by LyndyLou View Post
      My Amstrad box did the same. Anytime is the problem. If you turn it off the box no longer bleeps and spins up when off except for your own timed recordings. Had no problems with recordings freezing and only had one failed recording, error message Technical Fault 10 (Whatever that means), since box was installed last November.
      OK cheers ill give it a go now

    7. #6
      Coopz's Avatar
      Coopz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      Well Sky came out and replaced my box and now all of them problems have gone away

    8. #7
      Freedom's Avatar
      Freedom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: IPSLEY
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Redditch
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Is this normal for Sky+ 80gb?

      My thomson box has all of these problems and more - including a bent case and if you leave it on at night and it goes in-to auto standy it won't power on again in the mornign without turning it on and off at the wall - I have to complain but haven't had time...

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION