Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

    This is a discussion on sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; hi first time poster so please...any help would be gratefully receive. i have a wharefedale hd400f recorder, which is a ...

    1. #1
      mattybriggs's Avatar
      mattybriggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      hi

      first time poster so please...any help would be gratefully receive.

      i have a wharefedale hd400f recorder, which is a dvd recorder and a hard drive recorder. i am trying to drop recordings from my sky + box onto the hard drive to edit etc.

      the set up is as follows.
      sky box - scart tv - to tv scart on tv (av1)
      vcr scart to input/output scart on the wharefedale

      wharefedale - output scart to tv (av2)

      so, the sky + box is linked to the wharefedale by the vcr/stb scart into the wharefedales input/output.

      when i copy to the wharefedale it only copies the sound !!!!!. when i view the wharefedale and have video source as scart i can hear but not see the sky+recording playing. why is there no picture.??????

      i swopped scart leads round to see if there is a dodgy one but to no avail.

      just about to pull my hair out so please help

      thanks matt


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mattybriggs's Avatar
      mattybriggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      just to add. both boxes are relatively new. the sky + box is the amstrad 1 i think and is about 1 month old. and i dont have a terresrial aerial / rf loop involved at all......not that any of that matters does it?

      cheers

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      i believe some films are copyprotected so you cant archive them to dvd/vhs (i think).

      Can you try something like BBC News or QVC or something like that.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      Not all SCART leads have all 21 pins connected. So if you can try some other SCART leads?

      Also have you selected the correct INPUT on the Wharfedale? I have a set up identical to yours (except I output from my Samsung DVD/HDD in HDMI on my TV) and it works well. I did have an initial problem when I hadn't pushed the SCART VCR output lead on the Sky+ box firmly home into the socket.

    6. #5
      mattybriggs's Avatar
      mattybriggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      hi cheers for the advice....what i was trying to copy was from uktv gold, but i also as a test recorded 1 minute of snooker yesterday fromm bbc and that did the same thing. When you say not all 21 pins are connected, is this because how they are made or because 1 or 2 may be faulty.
      the input i select on the wharefdale is 'scart'...the other inputs are f-sv/tuner etc and these wont obviously work.
      will keep perservering
      thanks

    7. #6
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      Have you tried connecting the VCR scart output from the STB to the TV to see if theres video there on the output?

    8. #7
      mattybriggs's Avatar
      mattybriggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      we have watched a dvd from the wharefedale on tv, so there is video output that way

    9. #8
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      but is there video output on the scart from Sky to DVD? Try swapping the scart from the DVD to TV and pop it into the Sky to DVD, do a recording, then swap the sacrts back again.

    10. #9
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      Just try simply going from the STB VCR output directly into the TV and see if the video is there!

    11. #10
      mattybriggs's Avatar
      mattybriggs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky + only copies sound to wharefdale dvd recorder

      cheers for advice...will have to try tuesday as run out of time today due to work etc. will let you know how i get on

      thanks all

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION