Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

    This is a discussion on Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ? within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi all, i have Sky TV and a few packages so i get all the TV channels i could hope ...

    1. #1
      Timmy Toad's Avatar
      Timmy Toad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      flitwick, beds
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      Hi all, i have Sky TV and a few packages so i get all the TV channels i could hope for, although i am sadly lacking methods of recording programs, i only have a steam VHS recorder.

      I see for about 150 i can get a Sagem PVR with a 160 gig HDD AND twin tuners.

      I would like to ask the members do they, or does anyone else know, if i can connect this PVR up to my Sky TV Box and use it to record Sky Channels, two at a time ???

      If it does/can work, i guess this would be better than SKY+, does anyone know please.

      Tim


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      mdg123's Avatar
      mdg123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01270
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      cheshire
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      might be better if you phone sky , ask them to give you a deal on sky+. remember be as cheaky as you can be ,,and they will give you a good deal for 10 a month,,dont forget you will get sky anytime aswell ,if your a full subscriber

    4. #3
      Timmy Toad's Avatar
      Timmy Toad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      flitwick, beds
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      hi mdg123, very good suggestion that one pal.

      in fact the more i search around this forum the more confused i get, i currently pay 21 a month for my Sky TV, (my phone and broadband are NTL), but among the sky packages i can see that for 26 i can get Surf, Talk and Watch !

      I would of course need to get a BT line to do that, but then i NOW pay about 25 to NTL for Surf and Talk ?.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      I dont pay anything for +, have standard 2 mixes plus sports.


    6. #5
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      no, you can only record 1 channel and only watch that same channel with a seperate PVR. This is because the sky+ only has 1 output and 2 inputs

      ie:

      Output - watch SkyOne
      Input1 - record Sky sports 1
      Input2 - record E4

      with a personal PVR the output links to the PVR from the skybox and therefore you can only record 1 channel (and watch that same channel).

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      sky+ will cost 99 for box 60 install = 159 around the same cost of a pvr no extra subscription with the mixes you have box price is for online upgrade at sky.com

    8. #7
      penrhyn's Avatar
      penrhyn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Long Eaton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Derbyshire
      Posts
      1,186
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      PVRs from Sagem, Humax and Topfield, and others will NOT record from an external source like a Sky box or anything else.
      They are specifically designed to record digital terrestrial broadcasts (freeview).
      If you want to record of a Sky box then you need a DVD recorder with or without a harddrive.

      Sky scrapped the 10 a month charge for Sky + over a year ago now, you only need to be a subscriber to the basic package to take advantage of this, ring them up and you may be able to blag a Sky+ box from them.


    9. #8
      Timmy Toad's Avatar
      Timmy Toad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL broadband
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      flitwick, beds
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky TV with PVR = Sky+ ?

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      no, you can only record 1 channel and only watch that same channel with a seperate PVR. This is because the sky+ only has 1 output and 2 inputs

      ie:

      Output - watch SkyOne
      Input1 - record Sky sports 1
      Input2 - record E4

      with a personal PVR the output links to the PVR from the skybox and therefore you can only record 1 channel (and watch that same channel).
      thanks for that buddy, Sky plus looks to be more and more what i want for my needs and purse.

      tim

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION