Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

    This is a discussion on USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box.... within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I've noticed that there are the above ports on my Sky+ box and have been meaning to ask what they ...

    1. #1
      AndyMc1's Avatar
      AndyMc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      I've noticed that there are the above ports on my Sky+ box and have been meaning to ask what they are for ? I'm assuming Firmware upgrades or something similar. The optimist in me wonders if I can use the USB for data transfer to my PC as I dont yet have a (non-PC) DVD recorder and my sky+ box is getting full.....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      USB port is currently not active - No sign of Sky enabling it as yet.
      RS232 is there to accept control signals from a third party system such as Creston or AMX.

      Only method of archiving stored programs is to connect a dvd recorder to the box via scart or RF. Sky don't want to make it too easy for you

    4. #3
      AndyMc1's Avatar
      AndyMc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      thought that would be too simple .... gits

      thanks for info

    5. #4
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      You can pick up relatively cheap video capture systems for the PC.

      I got a pinncle systems studio 500 for 40 new on ebay, and it can capture pretty good quality images.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    6. #5
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      The was talk of Sky using the STB modem for 'tinternet access but nowt came of it.

    7. #6
      Joseph Heenan's Avatar
      Joseph Heenan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      The RS232 port has two current uses:

      1. To output data about the currently tuned channel (channel name, program title, synopsis) for display on the sky gnome ( Sky Gnome - RS232 protocol )
      2. To receive input from the sky gamepad when the sky box is running a game
        ( Sky Gamepad - RS232 protocol )


      (It doesn't actually support changing controlling the sky box from AMX/Crestron, contrary to what you'd expect.)

    8. #7
      Ratcliffes's Avatar
      Ratcliffes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      289
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      Joseph,
      I must admit that I had always just assumed you could use the RS232 for control purposes. Good job I have never invested in Crestron only to find out it didn't work! Can I ask how you know this is true?

    9. #8
      Joseph Heenan's Avatar
      Joseph Heenan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: USB and RS232 ports on Sky+ box....

      Quote Originally Posted by Ratcliffes View Post
      Joseph,
      I must admit that I had always just assumed you could use the RS232 for control purposes. Good job I have never invested in Crestron only to find out it didn't work! Can I ask how you know this is true?
      I've worked with a lot of crestron installers. (And I actually sell an adaptor to allow Crestron and other systems to control sky boxes - it converts between RS232 for the Crestron side and connects to the Sky box RF2 port, injecting commands in the same way that 'magic eyes' do.)

      The way we know for sure that the sky boxes can't be controlled via the on board RS232 port is that when Sky designed the gnome they had to do the same thing - when you change channel from the gnome, the command gets injected into the RF2 port on the sky box, making the design of the gnome much more complicated.

     

     

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION