Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

    This is a discussion on Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; The problem is intermittent. Sometimes I press the remote and the rsponse doesn't happen for anything up to 30 secs. ...

    1. #1
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      The problem is intermittent. Sometimes I press the remote and the rsponse doesn't happen for anything up to 30 secs. I've even seen me pressing the down arrow whilst in the planner and having to wait 5 secs for it to move on to the next line. I've also had to switch the box off because I can't get a fast forward to stop. The remote seems OK as I turn the box off using that.

      I've got an engineer coming out on Wednesday but because it's so intermittent it's unlikely he'll be able to reproduce it. Anyone had similar problems? I've got a Thomson 127k148.

      One other thing. When I switch the box on I always get a "there is a technical fault with this channel please try again later" for about 7 secs before the picture appears.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Got an "energy saver" light in the room?
      Switch it off.

      Likewise some large screen TV sets put out interference - especially while warming up.

    4. #3
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Your 7 second technical fault delay is a norm for Thomson boxes.

      If you listen you can hear the hard disk startup. When it is at speed you get your picture.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    5. #4
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Thanks newbuilder.

      Sam, I do have an energy saver light. I've also got wireless broadband. The light wasn't on this morning when I was getting the sluggish response. The broadband was though but that's on almost constantly. I don't have a large screen tv (old cathode ray sony).

    6. #5
      newbuilder's Avatar
      newbuilder is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      445
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Was the sun shining in the window?

      When I have the sun shining directly on the box I can type in a number and get a delay or even get a totally different number than the one I typed in!
      Last edited by newbuilder; 31-03-08 at 04:40 PM.
      ------

      Advice given is in good faith and if taken is done so at your own risk. If in doubt consult a qualified person.

    7. #6
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      It wasn't newbuilder. Sun shines on back of house.

    8. #7
      Focus2000's Avatar
      Focus2000 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Im having a similar problem with an amstrad box (had sky+ since first March), it's the second, as I had the first replaced but it still happening (wouldnt do it when the engineer was there). It happens mostly at night between 6 and 10. Have got an energy light, but have taken it out with the same effect. Annoying me now. I have even tried covering up my coffee table (silver painted) just in case the IR signal is bouncing. Not sure what else to try apart from getting the engineer out again.

      Could it be the weather? been v. cold at night last month or so.

    9. #8
      StarmanUK's Avatar
      StarmanUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASTF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Home Broadband Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex, UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Personally I had an issue with my normal Sky STB which I traced to the energy save feature (Which decreases the brightness of the panel) on my Samsung LCD TV which when set to anything higher than "Low" would lead to unresponsive box. Very strange indeed
      There is no Tier 3, only Zhul or rather the Customer Solutions Team...

    10. #9
      tomtom's Avatar
      tomtom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scotstoun
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      I don't really buy into this interference business. e.g. I've seen me in the tv guide and I've pressed page down a couple of times and had no response. As I'd noticed before that it sometimes took the box some time to respond, I left it and the box responded around 20 secs later. What would that have to do with interference? I find it hard to believe that the signal was bouncing around the room for 20 secs before it arrived at the box.

    11. #10
      StarmanUK's Avatar
      StarmanUK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASTF
      Broadband ISP: O2 Home Broadband Standard
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      Essex, UK
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ box responds sluggishly to remote

      Then it could be a faulty box - Have you tried running the "Sky+ Planner Rebuild" option within the installers menu which acts like a defrag program on your PC and has helped with performance issues for some users. Also how about forcing a software upgrade?

      Details can be found - Sky+ information and advice
      There is no Tier 3, only Zhul or rather the Customer Solutions Team...

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION