Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

    This is a discussion on Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports within the Sky+ forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; hiya can someone offer some advice we currently have sky multiroom in 4 rooms which used up all the ports ...

    1. #1
      CG1's Avatar
      CG1
      CG1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      hiya

      can someone offer some advice we currently have sky multiroom in 4 rooms which used up all the ports on the dish. I want to upgrade one of the rooms to sky + but understand there is a second cable. What happens as I don't have enough ports on my dish???? Does anyone know how sky get round this?

      i have heard a rumour that if you go to Currys they offer sky + for 59 (29 & 30 as two separate payments) which is loads cheaper than Sky who offer it for 99. But I want to be sure they can install it before I go ahead.

      thanks a lot


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      You can get an Octo/8 way LNB for the dish, I dont know how much they are though.

    4. #3
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      If they are all boxes with valid subscribed (on your account) cards then Sky will supply the octo output LNB.
      I have two Sky+ boxes and will likely get a HD box soon so will get a octo LNB with it. My second Sky+ box cost me 49quid from Sky.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      Quote Originally Posted by Koala5 View Post
      You can get an Octo/8 way LNB for the dish, I dont know how much they are though.
      Mine was 30 fitted
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      CG1's Avatar
      CG1
      CG1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      Thanks everyone for your help. I will look into that then. If I were to get hold of my own Sky+ box and octo LNB could we easily install it ourselves do you think? I know I have to run another length of cable but do sky have to activate the sky+ part?

    7. #6
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      you should just need to get the card paired and it should work

    8. #7
      spike7451's Avatar
      spike7451 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Donaghadee
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      In the dark recess of my mind...
      Posts
      277
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      Best place for Sky stuff;

      Maplin > Satellite Systems

    9. #8
      thepirate's Avatar
      thepirate is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01277
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      billericay
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky + & Multiroom when you need more ports

      I recently purchased an octo LNB from ebay for about 20. Fitted it my self and all works fine.
      Good luck

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION